Skip to Main Content
Go to Penn Libraries homepage   Go to Guides homepage

Scholarly Communications

A guide created to discussion numerous aspects of scholarly communication, such as: open access publishing, copyright and creative commons licensing, scholarly profiles, and the h-index

Scholarly Profiles Overview

Why have a Scholarly Profile?

  • Provides an unambiguous identity in the online environment
  • Ensures that researchers receive proper credit for their work
  • Makes your work more discoverable
  • Can fulfill publisher and funder requirements
  • Facilitates trust building in scholarly communications network

What are the most popular scholarly profile services?

  1. ORCiD
  2. Scopus AuthorID
  3. ResearcherID (Clarivate Analytics)
  4. Google Scholar Citations Profile

Additional Options:

  1. Publons
  2. Humanities Commons
  3. Dimensions
  4. Academia.edu
  5. Altmetric
  6. SSRN
  7. LinkedIn
  8. Facebook
  9. Twitter
  10. Research Gate

Researcher ID Slides

A slide image that reads: "Researcher Identifiers. Elizabeth Jenkins, Biomedical Library. Manuel De La Cruz Gutierrez, Biomedial Library."

Researcher Identifiers

Slide image for "Commonly used IDs" with the logos for ORCID, Scopus, ResearcherID and Google Scholar.

Commonly Used IDs

Slide image depicting ORCID's logo and mission statement: "ORCID's vision is a world where all who participate in research, scholarship, and innovation are uniquely identified and connected to their contributions across disciplines, borders, and time."

ORCiD

A slide image that reads: "What is an ORCID exactly? A researcher links their ID to various research activities". The slide also depicts an example of a ORCID ID and an illustration connecting the words "Awarded funding", "Publications", and "Affiliations" to the word "ID".

What is an ORCiD exactly?

A slide image that reads: "Trusted Connections. Linking your ID to your research activities creates connections. These connections result the creation of an ORCID record".

Trusted Connections

A screenshot of an example of a researcher's ORCID record. On the right-hand side, there is a bulleted list for "The ORCID Record" that reads: "Biography, Employment history, Educational history, Funding awarded, List of published works, and more".

The ORCID Record

A slide image that reads: "How to get an ORCID. It's free and easy to register online".

How to get an ORCID

A slide image that reads: "Adding works to your record. Three methods: Search & Link (Preferred Method), BibTex, Manually".

Adding works to your record

Adding works with Search & Link. This is the preferred method for adding works to your record. It allows researchers to import data about their publications from existing databases.

Adding works with Search & Link

Adding works via BibTex. Simply import a BibTex file. This is the best method to integrate citations from Google Scholar.

Adding works via BibTeX

Adding works manually. Not the preferred method for adding works to your record. Make sure you fill out the "work identifier" field. Fill in as many fields as possible.

Adding works manually

The researcher has full control over their record. Control over both the information in the record and who sees it. Privacy settings provide many options.

The researcher has full control over their record

Trusted organizations/individuals. Trusted organizations or individuals can be authorized to interact with your ORCID record. This allows for third parties to auto update your record. You set the preferences."

Trusted organizations/individuals

ORCID and interoperability. ORCID easily integrates with other tools and platforms. The slide image depicts logos for DataCite, Crossref, publons, Scopus, SciENcv, and ResearcherID.

ORCID and interoperability

ORCID overview. Benefits: Free and easy to register, the researcher is in full control of their ID and ORCID record, Easily integrated with other platforms and tools, Compliant with the international standard name identifier (ISO 27729). ORCID IS NOT: a social media platform, a profile system".

ORCID Overview

Scopus AuthorID logo

Scopus AuthorID

Slide reads. "AuthorIDS are automatically generated if a researcher has a paper or publication indexed in Scopus. To find your author ID conduct an author search".

How to get an AuthorID

Slide reads, "Sometimes the same author may have more than one AuthorID. If that is the case, you can request to merge the profiles".

Merge Profiles

The slide reads, "The author profile provides the researcher with metrics. NOTE: Only provides metrics for papers indexed in Scopus".

The Author Profile

Slide reads, "In scopus your author profile automatically updates when new publications are indexed in the database. If any information is incorrect you can use the Author Feedback Wizard to request changes".

Updating your profile

Slides reads, "Why integrate the two profiles? Your ORCID will be associated with your publications indexed in Scopus. Your Scopus publications can bed added to your ORCID record. There are two methods: Use the author feedback wizard in Scopus or Via ORCID"."

Integrating with ORCID

Slide reads, "Pros: Citation metrics (only publications indexed in Scopus), More interdisciplinary than ResearcherID, Automatically updates profiles with new publications, Can easily integrate with ORCID. Cons: platform dependent, Limited author control".

AuthorID Overview

ResearcherID Logo

ResearcherID from Clarivate Analytics

Slide reads, "ResearcherID is your place to manage and share your professional information. Solve author identity issues while simultaneously adding dynamic citation metrics and collaboration networks to your personal profile".

What is ResearcherID?

How to get a ResearcherID

Easy to register here

Slide reads, "Three methods: Web of Science, EndNote and Upload RIS File".

Building Publication List

Slide reads, "NOTE: Only provides metrics for papers in the Web of Science Core Collection".

The ResearcherID Profile and its Focus on Metrics

Slide reads, "Provides an interactive page to explore metrics".

ResearcherID Labs

Slide depicts image of ResearcherID Labs page example

ResearcherID Labs (cont.)

Integrating with ORCID

Slide reads, "Pros: Focus on metrics, with some interesting interactive tools (Only publications in Web of Science), Fully integrated with Web of Science and EndNote, More robust privacy controls than AuthorID, Easy integration with ORCID. Cons: Platform dependent, No automatic profiles, Heavy science focus".

ResearcherID Overview

Google Scholar Logo

Google Scholar Citations Profile

Slide reads, "".

How to Get a Google Citations Profile

Go to:

1. My profile

2. Create or sign in to your google account

Screenshot image of example Google Scholar profile.

The Google Scholar Profile, Focused on citation counts

Slide reads, "Use Google's search feature and select the articles that are yours. If your publications don't appear there is an option to add an article manually".

Adding works to your profile

Slide reads, "Under the Profile Updates tab, there are optons to set up automatic profile updates. Citation counts always automatically update".

Automatic Updates and Google Citation

Slide reads, "Pros: Automatic profile updates, focus on metrics, easily accessible. Cons: does not provide a persistent digital identifer, unclear what is included in the metrics."

Google Scholar Overview

 Read about their inclusion guidelines here

Comparison table of ORCID, AuthorID, ResearcherID and Google Scholar on the features: Persistent ID, Publication List, Citation Metrics, User Privacy controls, Auto Update Publication List, and Cost.

Comparison

Slide reads, "Provides an unambiguous identity in the online environment, Ensures that researchers receive proper credit for their work, Makes your work more discoverable, Can fulfill publisher and funder requirements, Facilitates trust building in scholarly communication networks".

Benefits of Using a Researcher Identifier

Logos of various research ID options

Other Options

  • Publons
  • Humanities Commons
  • Dimensions
  • Academia.edu
  • Altmetric
  • SSRN
  • LinkedIn
  • FaceBook
  • Twitter
  • ResearchGate

3420 Walnut Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
Penn Libraries Home Search the Catalog
(215) 898-7555
Report Accessibility Issues and Get Help Penn Libraries Privacy Policy