1.Enter your article title and abstract. Then, you can, but don’t have to, select up to 3 “fields of research” . You can select to filter by Open Access as well
2.Enter the title and abstract, like with Elsevier’s product. You can choose ONE field of research. However, there are more filter options like minimum impact factor and acceptance rate, along with maximum time to first decision and indexing services. You can choose to view all journals, open access journals, or subscription journals
3.Search by paper match (title and abstract), journal name, publisher, or category. Once you choose up to three to compare, you can see: journal impact, responsiveness, publication speed, avg publication cost, publisher, affiliated societies, journal links, and where it’s indexed. For individual journals, you can see their aim & scope, speed (responsiveness and publication), costs, their open access policy, and the general information found in the compare function
Software to Help with Publishing
Refworks: Penn provides a subscription, so all students and faculty can create an account
EndNote: case by case basis. Individuals and departments can purchase copies from Penn’s Computer Connections
Zotero: Free, no account needed. Can be added as an extension for your web browser or as an application
Microsoft Flow and Microsoft Planner are both available through your school provided outlook email, or any outlook email you may have
Marketing/Promoting Your Research
...your own original tweets and retweet other accounts tweets
...the link to your article in your twitter bio or in a tweet
...your blogs (see below) in your tweets
....blog and blog posts, make sure to include a link to your article
....on other blogs to gain an audience or keep up to date on what others in your field are doing
Early this year we started a twitter account for the library. On this account we tweet about faculty publications and items of interest to the library, including workshops, dental news, etc. For students, whether you be current students or graduates, we will tweet about research or dental accomplishments that you have. Contact us at the library email: firstname.lastname@example.org. Penn Dental Medicine retweets our tweets so that it reaches a broader audience
Tools for Marketing/Promoting Research
Altmetric: Knowing who’s talking about your research and what they’re saying is crucial in today’s increasingly online world. Ensuring your work is being accurately represented and interpreted, as well as getting to the right people at the right time, all plays an important factor its broader impact. BUT it only works on PubMed, arXiv or pages with a google scholar friendly citation metadata & DOI and twitter mentions are for articles post 2011 only
Figshare: Some features: upload files up to 5 gb, 20 gb of free private space, unlimited public space, accessible anywhere, get a doi for your work
From their website, their philosophy is:
You retain ownership
You license it
You get credit
We just make sure it persists.
Calculating your h-index
Your h-index is based on a list of your publications ranked in descending order by the Times Cited count. The value of h is equal to the number of papers (N) in the list that have N or more citations.
In the example below, the researcher would have an h-index of 8, as 8 articles have been cited at least 8 or more times, and the remaining articles have each been cited 8 times or less.
The impact factor is a measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year or period. The annual JCR impact factor is a ratio between citations and recent citable items published. Thus, the impact factor of a journal is calculated by dividing the number of current year citations to the source items published in that journal during the previous two years.
A reporting guideline is a simple, structured tool for health researchers to use while writing manuscripts. A reporting guideline provides a minimum list of information needed to ensure a manuscript can be, for example:
●Understood by a reader,
●Replicated by a researcher,
●Used by a doctor to make a clinical decision, and
●Included in a systematic review.
Reporting guidelines are more than just some thoughts about what needs to be in an academic paper. We define a reporting guideline as:
“A checklist, flow diagram, or structured text to guide authors in reporting a specific type of research, developed using explicit methodology.”
Whether presented as structured text or a checklist, a reporting guideline:
●presents a clear list of reporting items that should appear in a paper and
●explains how the list was developed.
Find the right reporting checklist to help you plan, write or review medical research.
There’s a tool
Our colleague, Sarah Wipperman, Penn's Scholarly Communications Librarian, describes it best: Copyright isn’t just one thing--it is actually multiple rights, or a collection of rights– that make up the legal rights over a work. These rights govern reproduction, distribution, display, and remixing of intellectual and creative works.
Creative Commons licenses, are "open" copyrights.
CC licenses let users know exactly what they can and cannot do with the work. There are different types of CC licenses you can assign to your publications, but the basic premise of license is attribution—that you are credited for the a paper you published, and you can share your work beyond just a singular journal.
This is important because it means anyone can access your publications regardless of whether or not they have access to a medical library.
Keep their rights if they can! Author's rights.
Laurel gets reports, sends it out to see what is being downloaded. SHERPA/RoMEO is a useful tool to get you started in understanding what publishers allow an author to do/not do, but best practice is to contact the Dental Library, we can investigate these kinds of things for you.
Sharing Your Work
Here's an example of an openly shared work and research impact. Penn offers an institutional repository for faculty and students to share their works. Currently, there are 108 works by 298 authors in nine sub-discplines shared on Scholarly Commons. Advantages of sharing to Scholarly Commons include receiving a persistent link to your work, a higher ranking/discoverability in search engines, and stats, including altmetrics, on how your work is being disseminated.
Open Access: Benefits
I encourage you to consider assigning a CC license to any works you publish in support of Evidence-Based Dentistry. Right now, we are all affiliated with Penn and thereby Penn Libraries, so we are able to access whatever evidence we need. However, many practicing dentists do are not affiliated with an academic medical center, and do not have access to a library and cannot access scholarly literature, as much of it is hidden behind a paywall. Many of them are members of the ADA, quite a collection of full-text journals, and they do ILL. Library services are quite good.
(Goben, 2013) Dentists differ from other medical and nursing students in that following their graduation, they are often unaffiliated with a medical institution. Though they may participate in a group practice, the burden of accessing scholarly literature to maintain current awareness of trends and new research often falls to the sole practitioner. On their own, dentists are far less likely to fund purchasing access to full-text databases and multiple journals, or even to be able to regularly purchase articles through interlibrary loan. A physician, in comparison, is often affiliated with a hospital that provides access to databases such as UpToDate or DynaMed, whose focus is getting current research trends to working professionals. Professional dental organizations, such as the American Dental Association, allow members access to a few select journals and provide some assistance in accessing literature, but this help comes with a fee. Thus, practicing dentists face barriers to accessing full-text literature in medicine, which could inhibit their ability to find the best research to support patient care.