Skip to main content

Using Franklin Articles+

Using Limits

Franklin Articles+ provides many useful search limits.

Click the desired limits visible on the left side of Franklin Articles+

If you wish to utilize limits not immediately visible, click the More... option to see all values within a Limit. Click the green check to include or the red X to exclude.

To clear limits click

 

Pre-Search Limits

From the Articles+ tab of Franklin, there are pre-limits you can apply to your search

Full Text Online

While limiting to full text in many databases, such as many EBSCO databases, many eliminate full-text results that are actually available through PennText from other sources, limiting to full-text in Franklin: Articles+ provides access to all entries in the database for which we have full-text, as well as open access content.

Scholarly & Peer Reviewed

Ulrich's Directory of Periodicals is used as the determining source for Peer-reviewed, so, therefore, using this limit will reduce results to mostly journal articles.  The scholarly designation also derives from Ulrich's and is mostly applied to journal articles and some magazines.  In the Advanced Search, there is a separate limit for Peer-Reviewed only.  If you select Peer-Reviewed only from the Advanced Search, it will be "sticky" and stay checked until manually removed.

Academic/Scholarly: A serial type assigned by Ulrich's to describe the primary audience for the publication. The Scholarly determination is made by a process combining publisher self-reporting about individual titles and independent Ulrich's editorial research.

Peer-Reviewed: The terms "peer-reviewed" refers to the system of critical evaluation of articles by professional colleagues or peers. Multiple types of peer-review (e.g., double-blind, expert) are included under this designation. The content of refereed publications is sanctioned, vetted, or otherwise approved by a peer-review or editorial board. Ulrich's gathers information about peer-reviewed publications from publishers. The information is supplemented by feedback from librarians and individuals associated with the publications, as well as through independent research conducted by the Ulrich's editorial team.

Under the Advanced Search, there is a Peer reviewed publication only limit. Check that and the limit will persist through your searching, even if you switch back to a Basic search.

Content Type

Under Content Type on the left, click MORE to see all available content types or the content types represented by the item retrieved by your search:  See more on Content Type.

Publication Date

To limit your results to a date range, use the publication date limit feature. 

You may use the date slider to limit your results, however the slider only goes back 100 years.

Click on the calendar item to select day month year.

You may key in date manually. Use this format:  month - day - year   5/12/2012 

Subject Terms

When a search is performed, the subject facet on the left will display the top 5 subject terms from the entire results set.  Click on More to see the top 100 terms, which can then be sorted by ranking or alphabetically.

The content in Articles+ comes from a variety of publishers and providers. As a results, the subject information in records comes from a variety of classification sources, including the controlled vocabulary used in numerous databases, Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) terms, along with various terms that providers may have added to their content.  Consequently, subject terms are not standardized across Articles+.  When multiple providers contribute records for the same source, the subject terms from each of these records are preserved when the content of all the records are merged into a single record.

Language

Articles+ contains records for materials in over 50 languages.  After performing a search, you can limit results to one or more languages represented in the results set.  The first five most represented languages will show in the language limit on the left.  Click more to see all languages represented in the results.   You can do a blank search to see the number of records in each language.   The Language limit uses the language of the work.

Disciplines

Records for journal articles and other content types in Articles+ may be assigned to one or more of 59 disciplines.  These disciplines can be use to narrow a results set.  Newspaper articles do not have disciplines, nor do many other items of various content types that do not match with a discipline. 

 Subject terms in individual records are mapped to disciplines in two ways:

  • Subject Terms in a record that have an exact match to a discipline name
  • HILCC (Hierarchical Interface to Library of Congress Classification) taxonomy

Call numbers for book records are mapped to Disciplines using the Library of Congress Call Number, Dewey Number, or National Library of Medicine (NLM Classification).

Some disciplines are: Agriculture | Anatomy & Physiology | Anthropology | Applied Sciences | Architecture | Astronomy & Astrophysics | Biology | Botany | Business | Chemistry | Computer Science | Dance | Dentistry | Diet & Clinical Nutrition | Drama | Ecology | Economics | Education | Engineering | Environmental Sciences | Film | Forestry | Geography | Geology | Government | History & Archaeology | Human Anatomy & Physiology | International Relations | Journalism & Communications | Languages & Literatures | Law | Library & Information Science | Mathematics | Medicine | Meteorology & Climatology | Military & Naval Science | Music | Nursing | Occupational Therapy & Rehabilitation | Oceanography | Parapsychology & Occult Sciences | Pharmacy, Therapeutics, & Pharmacology | Philosophy | Physical Therapy | Physics | Political Science | Psychology | Public Health | Recreation & Sports | Religion | Sciences | Social Sciences | Social Welfare & Social Work | Sociology & Social History | Statistics | Veterinary Medicine | Visual Arts | Women's Studies | Zoology