Review the Author Help page of this guide for more information on troubleshooting your submission to ScholarlyCommons or the Policies page of this guide for more information on what types of submissions are accepted.
Although you can explore ScholarlyCommons without logging in, an account will allow you to sign up for personalized notifications and other email announcements, as well as to submit materials to the site. Accounts are free. They are available both to Penn and non-Penn users, but only Penn users can be authorized to submit materials.
- To create an account, select My Account from the left navigation column and then select the "create new account" option and click “signup”. After you provide your name, email address, and initial password (and, optionally, an institutional affiliation), the system will confirm registration via email.
- To log into your account, select My Account from the left navigation column and then enter your email address and password. If you forget your password, you can enter your email address without a password, and will receive your password immediately by email. If you want to change your password, go to the "My Account" page and choose the "Edit Profile" option.
- Use a different password from the one you use for your university account, or other sensitive accounts. (For example, Penn users should NOT use their PennKey password.) Logins and email password notifications are currently not encrypted and may be intercepted. Do not use a password whose compromise could also allow your overall online identity to be stolen. If you have trouble logging in or the system will not send you your password, please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. We will help solve the problem as soon as possible.
- Remember Me Next Time: If you select the "Remember Me Next Time”"option so that your password and email address are remembered even after you close your browser, you will not need to log in each time you visit the site. To prevent others from accessing your account, you must click the logout option on your "My Account" page.
In order to submit materials to ScholarlyCommons, you must be affiliated with a participating research unit at Penn. Contact email@example.com for more information. Also, review the Instructions for Submitting page of this guide for more information on the submission process; review the Policies page fore more information on who can submit.
If you do not find your unit listed in ScholarlyCommons and would like to participate in the collection, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org, and we will help you set up a series. See the "Joining ScholarlyCommons" box below for more information on the types of series in ScholarlyCommons and how to set those up.
ScholarlyCommons includes papers and other materials deposited in this collection by schools, departments, and other units at Penn, as well as links to electronic full texts of Penn dissertations, made available from ProQuest. The ScholarlyCommons home page offers options for browsing this content.
- Browse by research unit, center, or department: Content under this option has been deposited by individual Penn units. Select this option, then select the name of a unit to see a list of available collections. These might include departmental papers, technical report series, or other materials.
- Browse Researcher Profiles (SelectedWorks Gallery): Content under this option is organized by individual authors with SelectedWorks accounts. The author's page may also include research published in ScholarlyCommons, other information about the author, such as research interests, affiliations, etc.
- Browse by Author: Browse a list of all of the authors (alphabetical by last name) with materials in ScholarlyCommons.
- Browse dissertations: Content under this option includes links to Penn dissertations provided by ProQuest. Selecting this option will display a long list of titles, sorted first by year and then alphabetically by last name. Move to a particular year by selecting the year next to "Browse by Year"; then press the "Go" button. Or filter the list by author: enter the author’s last name in the "Author Last Name" text box to the right of the "Browse by Year" form.
You can search full text and descriptions of materials in ScholarlyCommons including Penn dissertations. If you prefer, you can narrow your search to a particular section of the collection.
- To search everything: selecting “in this repository” in the dropdown box from the left navigation column prompts a form that allows you to search for either words in the full text of papers or papers by a particular author in the collection. A link to an advanced search form allows further specification and combination of search terms. You can export results in formats suitable for other programs by choosing a different option on the pull-down menu under format. Selecting "across all repositories" will search all of the repositories in the larger Digital Commons community of which ScholarlyCommons and Penn is a part.
- To search within a particular research unit: the Browsing features specified above will take you to the research unit or collection you wish to search. A search form like the one found at the "in this repository" link described above allows you to search within the unit you are visiting ("in this series"). This form contains an "Advanced Search" link allowing for more detailed search options.