Skip to main content
Click logo to go to Libraries homepage

ScholarlyCommons

This guide will help you to become more familiar with Penn's institutional repository, ScholarlyCommons, and the various services provided by the ScholarlyCommons team.

For Individual Researchers

ScholarlyCommons contains a wide-range of collection types, each of which has its own posting policies or processes. The list below provides general guidance on how to submit research to specific collection types in the repository. Note that some collections do not allow authors to submit directly without approval. In these cases, you will be provided with an email form to contact the appropriate administrator for further instruction. For additional information about the submission process, visit our FAQs.

Please review the Instructions for Submitting page prior to submitting your work for step-by-step instructions on how to properly format your work in ScholarlyCommons.

If you would like to create a new collection in ScholarlyCommons, please review the Types of Materials page for examples and contact us to request a consultation.

Submitting Departmental Papers

  • For Penn-affiliated faculty, find the appropriate departmental papers collection from the Submit Research page and follow the instructions provided.
Faculty Assisted Submission

Send your CV or list of publications to the repository (faculty only) and we will do the work for you! Our team will go through all of your publications, determine copyright/permissions for each work, contact publishers for permission on your behalf, and then post the permitted materials to the appropriate departmental papers collection in ScholarlyCommons. Please note that we will review permissions for all of the works in your CV, unless otherwise instructed. Click here to find out more about Faculty Assisted Submission.

Submitting to Journals

  • Some journals in ScholarlyCommons accept outside submissions. To determine whether a journal is accepting submissions, select one from the Journals page and review its policies and submission instructions (normally found on the left-hand nav).

Submitting Theses, Dissertations, and Capstones

  • ScholarlyCommons houses a variety of theses, dissertations, and capstones for Penn undergraduate and graduate work. Based on departmental policy, students may be encouraged or required to submit their thesis or dissertation to ScholarlyCommons. For Penn students submitting their thesis or capstone, find the appropriate collection from the Submit Research page and follow the instructions provided.

  • For those submitting current PhD dissertations, you DO NOT need to submit directly to ScholarlyCommons. You will submit your dissertation through the ProQuest ETD administrator; ScholarlyCommons will upload dissertations as a batch every semester.

  • If you wrote a Penn PhD dissertation prior to December 2015 and would like your dissertation included in ScholarlyCommons, you may submit directly to the Publicly Accessible Penn Dissertations series, or contact us and we will do it for you.

Submitting Working Papers, Lab Reports, and Data

  • For Penn-affiliated researchers, find the appropriate working paper, lab report, or data collection from the Submit Research page and follow the instructions provided. If you have any questions or require assistance, please contact us.

For Departments, Centers, Labs, or Other Groups

If you are a department, center, lab, or other Penn group, we can set up a collection in ScholarlyCommons for your works. As with our individual faculty members, we can help determine permissions for all interested parties in your group and post the permitted materials to ScholarlyCommons. We'll also work with you to develop a sustainable workflow for adding and editing content in your collection. To set up a new collection for your department, center, lab, or other group, contact us.

Image of keyboard with "share" button

Submit to ScholarlyCommons

Make your works discoverable through ScholarlyCommons, Penn's openly accessible institutional repository. Take advantage of Faculty Assisted Submission by sending us your CV or list of publications (faculty only), submit materials yourself, or set up a consultation to discuss your digital project. 

Image courtesy Niklas Wikström via CC BY-NC 2.0 license.

Note on Publisher Policies

Publishers often restrict what version of a paper researchers can submit to a repository like ScholarlyCommons. Some publishers, for instance, only allow posting of the preprint or postprint version of an article or book chapter, not the final published version.

  • If you are submitting to ScholarlyCommons on your own, please be mindful of your publisher's policies.

  • To get a sense of your journal publisher's policy on posting to a repository like ScholarlyCommons, search SHERPA/RoMEO, a public database of journal policies. Bear in mind that SHERPA/RoMEO is not a definitive resource on journal permissions or publisher policies. If you have questions about publisher policies, please contact us.

  • For faculty members who are new to ScholarlyCommons, we recommend starting off with assisted submission, as we will do the work of investigating publisher permissions on your behalf.

For additional information about sharing your work online and publisher policies, visit the [[Sharing Your Work guide]].