Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of the Early Printed Hebrew Book

Production and Circulation in General

The machinery of printing houses changed only to the slightest extent between the days of Johannes Gutenberg (c.1450) and the early nineteenth-century. The craft and culture of the printing house were exhaustively described in Joseph Moxon's, Mechanick Exercises on the Whole Art of Printing, issued in parts in 1683 and available in a facsimile reprint.  The more technical aspects of the craft are analyzed, in D.F. McKenzie, ‘Printers of the Mind: some Notes on Bibliographical Theories and Printing-House Practices,’ Studies in Bibliography 22 (1969), 1–76; see also McKenzie, Bibliography and the Sociology of Texts (London:  British Library, 1985), Ch. 1.

Bidwell, John
“The Study of Paper as Evidence, Artefact and Commodity,” pp. 69-82 in, The Book Encompassed. Studies in Twentieth-century Bibliography (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992) ed. Peter Davison
Van Pelt Library. Z1001.3 .B66 1992

Briquet, Charles Moi?¨se
Les filigranes, Dictionnaire historique des marques du papier des leur apparition vers 1282 jusqu'en 1600 / avec 39 figures dans le texte et 16,112 facsimilie´s de filigranes, 4 volumes
Leipzig :  Hiersemann, 1923
Van Pelt Library. Z237 .B845
Amsterdam, Paper Publications Society (Labarre Foundation), 1968
Rare Book & Manuscript Library Reading Room. Folio Z237 .B845 1968
Mansfield Centre, Ct. : Maurizio Martino, 2000
Reprint of the 1923 Leipzig second edition.
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z237 .B845 2000

Davis, Natalie Zemon
Society and culture in early modern France : eight essays
Stanford University Press ; London : Duckworth, 1975
Van Pelt Library. DC33 .D33

Gaskell, Philip
A new introduction to bibliography
New York, Oxford University Press, 1972
Van Pelt Library. Z116.A2 G27 1972b
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Furness Collection. Z116.A2 G27 1972b

McKenzie, Donald Francis
“Printers of the Mind: some Notes on Bibliographical Theories and Printing-House Practices,” Studies in Bibliography 22 (1969) 1-76
Van Pelt Library Z1008 .V55
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Rare Book Collection. Z1008 .V55
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Furness Storage. Z1008 .V55

McKenzie, Donald Francis
Bibliography and the sociology of texts
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999
Van Pelt Library. Z1001 .M156 1999
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Furness Collection. Z1001 .M156 1999
http://ebooks.cambridge.org/ebook.jsf?bid=CBO9780511483226

McKerrow, Ronald B.
An introduction to bibliography for literary students
Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1928
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z1001 .M35 1928
Van Pelt Library. Z1001 .M16 1928
Rare Book & Manuscript Library Reading Room. Z1001 .M16 1928
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1962
Reprint of the 2nd impression with corrections published by Clarendon Press in 1928
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Furness Collection. 12 M19

Moxon, Joseph
Mechanick Exercises on the Whole Art of Printing (1683-4)
London: on the Westside of Fleet-ditch ''at the sign of the Atlas,'' 1683
Facs. ed., New York : Dover Publications, 1978 [repr. of edd. Herbert Davis and Harry Carter, Oxford University Press, 1962]
Van Pelt Library. Z244 A2 M93 1978
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Rare Book Collection. Z244.A2 M93 1978

Needham, Paul
“A Gutenberg Bible used as Printer's Copy,” Transactions of the Cambridge Bibliographical Society 9 (1986) 36-75
Van Pelt Library. Z1008 .C2

Needham, Paul
“Aldus Manutius's Paper Stocks:  The Evidence of Two Uncut Books,” Princeton University Library Chronicle 55 (1994) 287-307
Katz Center - Stacks. Z733.P93 C5
Van Pelt Library. Z733.P93 C5
http://libweb5.princeton.edu/visual_materials/pulc/index.html

Needham, Paul
“Concepts of Paper Study,” pp. 1-36 in, Puzzles in Paper:  Concepts in Historical Watermarks : essays from the International Conference on the History, Function, and Study of Watermarks, Roanoke, Virginia (New Castle, Del. : Oak Knoll Press, 2000) edd. Daniel W. Mosser, Michael Saffle and Ernest W. Sullivan II
Van Pelt Library. Z237 .I58 1996

Needham, Paul
“The Compositor's Hand in the Gutenberg Bible:  A Review of the Todd Thesis,” Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America 77 (1983) 341-71
Van Pelt Library. Z1008 .B51P

Needham, Paul
“Division of Copy in the Gutenberg Bible:  Three Glosses on the Ink Evidence,” Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America 79 (1985) 411-26
Van Pelt Library. Z1008 .B51P

Needham, Paul
“The Paper Supply of the Gutenberg Bible,” Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America 79 (1985) 303-74
Van Pelt Library. Z1008 .B51P

Nuovo, Angela   
Il commercio librario nell'Italia del Rinascimento.
Milano: Franco Angeli, 2003
Katz Center - Stacks. Z340 .N86 1998
Van Pelt Library. Z340 .N86 1998

Nuovo, Angela  
The Book Trade in Renaissance Italy
Leiden-Boston: Brill, 2013
Van Pelt Library. Z340 .N857 2013
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Furness Shakespeare Library (Van Pelt 628). Z340 .N857 2013

Paper and watermarks as bibliographic evidence
http://ihl.enssib.fr/en/paper-and-watermarks-as-bibliographical-evidence/bibliographical-annotations-and-orientations

Stevenson, Allan H.
“Watermarks are Twins,” Studies in Bibliography 4 (1951) 57-91, 235
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Rare Book Collection. Z1008 .V55
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Furness Storage. Z1008 .V55

Stevenson, Allan H.
“Chain-Indentations in Paper as Evidence,” Studies in Bibliography 6 (1953) 181-195
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Rare Book Collection. Z1008 .V55
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Furness Storage. Z1008 .V55

Tanselle, G. Thomas
“The Bibliographical Description of Paper,” Studies in Bibliography 24 (1971) 27-67
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Rare Book Collection. Z1008 .V55
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Furness Storage. Z1008 .V55