Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Books on Writing Literature Reviews
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by The Third Edition of Conducting Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper provides readers with an accessible but in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature. Bestselling author Arlene Fink shows researchers how to justify the need for and significance of research, and explain a studyâe(tm)s findings. Key Updates to the Third Edition Presents nearly a hundred new online examples and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences Offers a revised and updated list of online articles databases Includes case studies in the use of major online databases Expands the exercises at the end of the chapter to include more online searching Clarifies some of the basic concepts of research that are essential in making judgments about the quality of research methods Incorporates more examples and clearer explanations of the differences between research design validity (internal and external) and measurement validity Introduces the major formal systems for evaluating the literatureâe(tm)s methodological quality Provides more qualitative research examples and information on how to evaluate their quality Illustrates in greater detail how to write up reviews and how others have done it Contains nearly 100 Power Point Slides linked to each of the five chapters available at www.sagepub.com/fink3einstr qualified instructors who adopt the book The text also discusses the use of Boolean operators for simple and advanced searches, tells readers how to use bibliographic software to organize literature reviews and search "The Virtual File Cabinet.âe Intended Audience This text is for graduate students in the social science, health, educational, and business fields. It is also appropriate for anyone who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and/or prepare strategic plans and grant proposals.
Publication Date: 2009-03-26
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This third edition includes: Even more examples of real life research scenarios More emphasis on how to ask the right question New and updated advice on following a clear search strategy Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools More coverage of how to write up your results Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence. Amazon reviews for the 2nd edition: "This really helped me complete my dissertation. Well set out, easy to understand and for literature review beginners a very good place to start." "This book has really helped me understand what a literature review is, and gives great insight into what is expected from your literature review." "Buy this book: it's a God send!" Over 25,000 copies sold "This deceptively small book provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, step-by-step guide to the development of a literature review. Key strengths are the clarity of expression and the logical flow of information. Chapters match the stages of a literature review, from start to finish. Useful examples and key questions will help to keep the reader on track. With this book as your guide, developing a literature review need not be a daunting or overwhelming task." Dr Merryl E Harvey, Senior Academic, Faculty of Health, Birmingham City University, UK
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Doing a Literature Search by Doing a Literature Search provides a practical and comprehensive guide to searching the literature on any topic within the social sciences. The book will enable the reader to search the literature effectively, identifying useful books, articles, statistics and many other sources of information. The text will be an invaluable research tool for postgraduates and researchers across the social sciences.
Publication Date: 2001-08-09
The Literature Review by From daunting to doable in six steps The process of literature search and composing a formal literature review can be intimidating. But masters and doctoral candidates in Education and related fields have found academic argumentation to be seamlessly intuitive with the six-step process pioneered by this book. This updated third edition features a wealth of all-new content including: A flowchart that graphically illustrates Machi and McEvoy's process. Reflective Oversight boxes in each chapter, prompting readers to direct metacognitive activities. Links to online guides and resources. Expanded examples illustrating theoretical concepts.
Publication Date: 2016-06-09
The Literature Review by Lecturers - request an e-inspection copy of this text or contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs.This second edition of Diana Ridley′s bestselling book provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, using cases and examples throughout to demonstrate best practice. Ridley outlines practical strategies for conducting a systematic search of the available literature, reading and note taking and writing up your literature review as part of an undergraduate research project, Masters dissertation or PhD thesis. New to this edition are: Examples drawn from a wide range of disciplines A new chapter on conducting systematic reviews Increased guidance on evaluating the quality of online sources and online literature Enhanced guidance in dealing with copyright and permissions issues. Visit the Companion Website for The Literature ReviewThis book also comes with a companion website containing a wide range of examples of successful literature reviews from various academic disciplines.SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis by This book serves as an introductory methods text on how to conduct a research synthesis of literature in the social, behavioural, or the medical sciences. Harris Cooper applies the basic tenets of sound data-gathering to the task of producing a comprehensive assessment of past research.In this book, the process of research synthesis is conceptualized as five stages: (1) problem formulation; (2) data collection or the literature search; (3) data evaluation; (4) analysis and interpretation; and (5) presentation of results. Cooper leads the reader through the comprehensive synthesis via a five- stage, step-by-step process. In the fifth edition, chapter 4 on conducting a literature search has been extensively revised to include recent developments brought about by the increasing use of the internet for scientific communication. Other new developments in the techniques for meta-analysis are covered in chapter 6, including new statistics for describing meta-analytic results and combining complex data structure. These new statistics are introduced but briefly because more in-depth treatment they would require more advanced knowledge that is not appropriate for this book. This new edition reflects careful revisions throughout along with a thorough updating of the references.Readers who are engaged in writing a research report, dissertation, or book will find Cooper′s tips a welcome aid for doing more effective and more efficient literature review.
Publication Date: 2016-02-03
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by Reviewing the literature is an essential part of every research project. This book takes you step-by-step through the process of approaching your literature review systematically, applying systematic principles to a wide range of literature review types. Through numerous examples, case studies and exercises, the book covers often neglected areas of literature review such as concept analysis, scoping and mapping. The book includes practical tools for supporting the various stages of the review process, including; - managing your literature review - searching the literature - assessing the quality of the literature - synthesising qualitative and/or quantitative data - writing up and presenting data Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review is essential reading for any student or researcher looking to approach their literature review in a systematic way.
Publication Date: 2012-01-24
Writing Literature Reviews by This useful guide educates students in the preparation of literature reviews for term projects, theses, and dissertations. The authors provide numerous examples from published reviews that illustrate the guidelines discussed throughout the book. #65533; New to the seventh edition: #65533; Each chapter breaks down the larger holistic review of literature exercise into a series of smaller, manageable steps Practical instructions for navigating today#65533;s digital libraries Comprehensive discussions about digital tools, including bibliographic and plagiarism detection software Chapter activities that reflect the book#65533;s updated content New model literature reviews Online resources designed to help instructors plan and teach their courses (www.routledge.com/9780415315746).
Publication Date: 2017-04-05
Search Databases for Literature Review Articles and Overview Publications
Publishes journals of reviews in physical, life and social sciences. Includes economics, linguistics, public health, psychology, sociology, and more. This can be a great place to find reviews on many topics.
PsycINFO has a Methodology limit, with values of Literature review, Systematic Review, or Meta-analysis.
Web of Science (WOS)
Don't be misled by "science" in the title. WOS also covers the humanities and social sciences. On the left, under Refine Results, Select REVIEWS under Document Types. This is a limit for literature reviews or overview articles. THis may not get all lit reviews. Consider also searching the TS field (Title, Abstract, Author Keyword, Keywords Plus®) with meta-analysis, metaanalysis, synthesis, overview.
Do a search in Scopus for a keyword.
Then refine the results by selected under "Document type" - review.
Perform a search, then under Article Type on the right, see Reviews or Systematic Reviews.
Selected Journals with Review Articles
Review of Educational Research (RER)
Publishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education, including conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of literature and scholarly work in a field broadly relevant to education and educational research.
Review of Research in Education (RRE)
Provides an overview and descriptive analysis of selected topics of relevant research literature through critical and synthesizing essays. Articles are usually solicited for specific RRE issues. There may also be calls for papers. RRE promotes discussion and controversy about research problems in addition to pulling together and summarizing the work in a field.
Educational Psychology Review
An international forum for the publication of peer-reviewed integrative review articles, special thematic issues, reflections or comments on previous research or new research directions, interviews, and research-based advice for practitioners - all pertaining to the field of educational psychology.
Systematic Review Databases
Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - open and searchable archive of systematic reviews and their data.
Campbell Collaboration - Library of Systematic Reviews
Systematic reviews in areas such as education, criminal justice, social policy and social care. (The Campbell Collaboration was formally established at a meeting at the University of Pennsylvania on 24-25 February 2000.)
The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre (EPPI-Centre) is part of the Social Science Research Unit at the Institute of Education, University of London. EPPI develops systematic reviews and developing review methods in social science and public policy.
Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy. Since 2011, Cochrane has an official partnership with the WHO.