Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sage Research Methods Library
Sage Research Methods
Includes individual books, reference handbook, and instructional videos by academics from across the social sciences. Covers quantitative and qualitative research methods.
Selected Works on Research Methodology
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation by In an era of curricular changes, experiments, and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation are more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation also covers important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. Textbooks, handbooks, monographs, and other publications focus on various aspects of educational research, measurement, and evaluation, but to date, there exists no major reference guide for students new to the field. This comprehensive work fills that gap, covering traditional areas while pointing the way to future developments. Key Features: Nearly 700 signed entries are contained in an authoritative work spanning four volumes and available in electronic and/or print formats. Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader's Guide grouping entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of education research, measurement, and evaluation to more easily locate directly related entries. Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; and a detailed Index. Entries conclude with Further Readings and cross-references to related entries. The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and cross-references combine to provide a robust search-and-browse in the electronic version.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers by Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy Johnny Saldaña's unique and invaluable manual demystifies the qualitative coding process with a comprehensive assessment of different coding types, examples and exercises. The ideal reference for students, teachers, and practitioners of qualitative inquiry, it is essential reading across the social sciences and neatly guides you through the multiple approaches available for coding qualitative data. Its wide array of strategies, from the more straightforward to the more complex, is skillfully explained and carefully exemplified providing a complete toolkit of codes and skills that can be applied to any research project.For each code Saldaña provides information about the method′s origin, gives a detailed description of the method, demonstrates its practical applications, and sets out a clearly illustrated example with analytic follow-up. Now with a companion website, the book is supported by: SAGE journal articles showing coding being applied to real research Sample transcripts highlighting coding techniques Links to CAQDAS sites to introduce relevant software Practical student exercises Links to video and digital content This international bestseller is an extremely usable, robust manual and is a must-have resource for qualitative researchers at all levels.Click here for a listing of Johnny Saldaña′s upcoming workshops. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for classPerusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: Print. Van Pelt Library. H62 .S343 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
Community-Based Qualitative Research by This practical text integrates theoretical perspectives with guidelines for designing and implementing community-based qualitative research projects. Coverage of participatory research designs and approaches is complemented by chapters on specific aspects of this research process, such as developing relationships and sharing findings to strengthen programs. Included are useful handouts and templates for applying to the reader's own projects, and end-of-chapter questions for self-reflection and class discussion. Readers will find the book's engaging case studies, interdisciplinary real-life examples, and insights from project participants as a helpful foundation for future work in the field.
Call Number: Print. Van Pelt Library. HM756 .J637 2017
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Qualitative Data Analysis by The Third Edition of Miles & Huberman′s classic research methods text is updated and streamlined by Johnny Saldaña, author of The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers. Several of the data display strategies from previous editions are now presented in re-envisioned and reorganized formats to enhance reader accessibility and comprehension. The Third Edition′s presentation of the fundamentals of research design and data management is followed by five distinct methods of analysis: exploring, describing, ordering, explaining, and predicting. Miles and Huberman′s original research studies are profiled and accompanied with new examples from Saldaña′s recent qualitative work. The book′s most celebrated chapter, "Drawing and Verifying Conclusions," is retained and revised, and the chapter on report writing has been greatly expanded, and is now called "Writing About Qualitative Research." Comprehensive and authoritative, Qualitative Data Analysis has been elegantly revised for a new generation of qualitative researchers.
Call Number: Print
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by In the Fourth Edition of this bestselling book, John W Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography and case study - putting them side by side, so that we can see the differences. They relate research designs to each of the traditions of enquiry and provide strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative and verifying results.
Call Number: Print. Van Pelt Library. H61 .C73 2018
Publication Date: 2017-01-25
Research design : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches by This edition for sale in USA and Canada only. The book that has helped more than 150,000 students and researchers prepare their plan or proposal for a scholarly journal article, dissertation or thesis has been revised and updated while maintaining all the features that made the first edition so popular. New to this edition: · Because mixed method research has come into its own since the publication of the first edition, every chapter now shows how to implement a mixed method design in your proposal or plan as well as showing how to do the other two (qualitative and quantitative) approaches · Ethical issues that may arise in quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods designs have been added to a new section in Chapter 3 · Writing tips and considerations have been expanded and moved to the first part of the book to get your research plan started in the right direction · The latest developments in qualitative inquiry, including advocacy, participatory, and emancipatory approaches have been added to Chapter 10 · Mixed Method Procedures (Chapter 11) show readers how to identify the type of mixed method strategy, select the data collection and analysis approaches, and plan the overall structure of the study Examples, drawn from various disciplinary fields, are used throughout the book to deepen the readers understanding of the discussion. These include examples of studies with marginalized individuals in our society that reflect issues in social justice in addition to the traditional samples and populations studied by social researchers.
Call Number: Print. Van Pelt Library. H62 .C6963 2014
Publication Date: 4th edition. 2014
Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes by In Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes, Robert M. Emerson, Rachel I. Fretz, and Linda L. Shaw present a series of guidelines, suggestions, and practical advice for creating useful fieldnotes in a variety of settings, demystifying a process that is often assumed to be intuitive and impossible to teach. Using actual unfinished notes as examples, the authors illustrate options for composing, reviewing, and working fieldnotes into finished texts. They discuss different organizational and descriptive strategies and show how transforming direct observations into vivid descriptions results not simply from good memory but from learning to envision scenes as written. A good ethnographer, they demonstrate, must learn to remember dialogue and movement like an actor, to see colors and shapes like a painter, and to sense moods and rhythms like a poet. This new edition reflects the extensive feedback the authors have received from students and instructors since the first edition was published in 1995. As a result, they have updated the race, class, and gender section, created new sections on coding programs and revising first drafts, and provided new examples of working notes. An essential tool for budding social scientists, the second edition of Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes will be invaluable for a new generation of researchers entering the field.
Call Number: Print. Multiple locations.
Publication Date: 2011-12-05
Browse Recent Books (Print and Online) on Research Methodology by Subject
Here are links to Franklin Catalog subject heading keyword searches of books on research methodology in the social sciences and in specific disciplines, with results sorted new to old.
Writing Empirical Research Reports-7th Ed by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
* Designed for students who will be writing research proposals, reports, theses, and dissertations. * The 15 chapters cover 191 guidelines for effective scientific writing. The guidelines are fully illustrated with easy-to-follow examples. * The guidelines describe the types of information that should be included, how this information should be expressed, and where various types of information should be placed within a research report. * End-of-chapter questions help students master the writing process.
Writing Skills for Education Students by This concise text will help your students get to grips with the core academic skills they need to succeed at written assignments, including critical thinking, reading, note-making and assignment planning. It also equips students with practical strategies for reflecting on their learning and placement experiences and using observational data from their placements in written assignments. Chapters incorporate subject-specific examples and activities, which make it easier for students to develop these skills and apply them to their own work. This engaging book will be an essential companion for all students of Education, Childhood Studies and related disciplines.
Call Number: Print: Van Pelt Library. LB1033.5 .B37 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-11