Guides: Alumni Travel Reading 2018-2019: Belize to Tikal

Fiction

Time and the River by Zee Edgell
Call Number: Van Pelt Library PR9280.9.E34 T56 2007
ISBN: 9780435215187
Publication Date: 2006
Set in Belize in the 1800s, this is the story of a young coloured woman born a slave, and her path to freedom, eventually becoming a slave owner herself.
In the Heat by Ian Vasquez
Call Number: Van Pelt Library PS3622.A828 I5 2008
ISBN: 9780312378097
Publication Date: 2008
Author Ian Vasquez was raised in Belize and all of his crime novels are set in Belize. His first novel features a boxer looking for a last fight with a big pay check. It looks as though he'll get his fight, but first he has to do a little detective work.

Garifuna in Belize

Among the Garifuna: Family Tales and Ethnography from the Caribbean Coast by Marilyn McKillop Wells
Call Number: Museum Library F1505.2.C3 W45 2015
ISBN: 9780817318710
Publication Date: 2015
Among the Garifuna is ab ethnographic narrative of a Garifuna family. The Garifuna are descendants of the “Black Carib,” whom the British displaced on Roatan Island in 1797 and who settled along the Caribbean coast from Belize City to Nicaragua. The work is divided into two parts, "The Old Ways," providing background and "Living There," a look at the contemporary situation of the family.

Guatemala, Tikal and Yaxha

Tikal - Paleoecology of an Ancient Maya City by David L. Lentz (Editor); Nicholas P. Dunning (Editor); Vernon L. Scarborough (Editor)
Call Number: Museum Library QE720.2.G9 T55 2015
ISBN: 9781107027930
Publication Date: 2015
"This book focuses on how the ancient Maya in the northern Petén Basin were able to sustain large populations during the Late Classic period," publisher.
Popol Vuh: The Sacred Book of the Maya by Allen J. Christenson
Call Number: Museum Library F1465 .P813 2003
ISBN: 190381653X
Publication Date: 2004
The Popol Vuh is the Mayan creation story and one of the most significant pieces of Mayan literature to survive the Spanish conquest.

Tikal Project Image Database

The University of Pennsylvania Museum conducted archaeological investigations in Tikal between 1956 and 1970, in the process producing over 60,000 photographic images. The Tikal DIgital Access Project provides access to part of the UPM Tikal Archive.

The Southeast Classic Maya Zone by Elizabeth Hill Boone (Editor); Gordon R. Willey (Editor)
ISBN: 088402170X
Publication Date: 1988
Texts from a conference in 1984. Some pages available through Google Books (follow linked title)

Bibliographer info Reef photo

Fish Alley by Heath Alselke. Barrier Reef off Ambergris Caye. Used under a Creative Commons Attribution License.

Selected and Annotated By:

Joe Holub

Bibliographer for Latin American Area Studies, Spanish and Portuguese

holub@pobox.upenn.edu

Rebecca Stuhr

Assistant Director for Liaison Services

For more information about this and other excursions, visit the Penn Alumni Travel webpage .

Includes an initial advertisement. For more:http://video.nationalgeographic.com/video/belize-coral

Belize Music and Culture

A look at the major Mayan city of Tikal, located in Tikal National Park, Guatemala. Habitation is dated anywhere between 2,600 and a 1,000 years ago. Google Earth, pics and AirPano.

Mayan History and Archaeology

Maya Cities and Sacred Caves: A Guide to the Maya Sites of Belize by Jaime Awe
Call Number: Museum Library F1435 .A94 2007
ISBN: 9768161108
Publication Date: 2nd Edition, 2009
Beautifully illustrated book is full of historical and cultural insights into the Maya
Belize: A Concise History by P.A.B. Thomson, editor
Call Number: Van Pelt Library F1446 .T46 2004
ISBN: 9780333779255
Publication Date: 2004
A political history dating back to the 17th Century
Lengua Maya [manuscript]: Miscelanea. [Volume] II. by Berendt, C. Hermann (Carl Hermann), 1817-1878
Call Number: Rare Books and Manuscripts Collection: Ms. Coll. 700
Publication Date: 1868
Collection of copies of or extracts from various documents concerning Mayan history and culture, made by C. Hermann Berendt in a notebook of lined paper.
The Maya Tropical Forest: People, Parks & Ancient Cities by James D. Nations
Call Number: Museum Library F1435.3.E74 N38 2006
ISBN: 9780292713185
Publication Date: 2006
Drawing on more than twenty-five years of conservation work in the Maya Tropical Forest, Nations tells first-hand stories of the creation of national parks and other protected areas to safeguard the region's natural resources and archaeological heritage.
Communities, Caves, and Ritual Specialists: A Study of Sacred Space in the Maya Mountains of Southern Belize by Keith Prufer
Publication Date: Dissertation 2002
Available through Academia.edu. Downloaded by the Author.
Lost Cities of the Maya by Sydney Claude; Picasso Baudez
Call Number: University Museum Library F1435 .B38513 1992
ISBN: 0810928418
Publication Date: 1992
A small book that emphasizes the process of discovery of various Mayan sites. It is richly illustrated and portable.
Maya Architecture: Temples in the Sky by Kenneth Treister
Call Number: University Museum Library F1435.3.A6 T74 2013
ISBN: 9780813042466
Publication Date: 2013
Color photos illustrate the history and design of Mayan cities. American architect Treister discusses construction methods and materials, as well as the influence of Maya structures on his own work and that of tohers, including architect Frank Lloyd Wright.
Incidents of travel in Central America, Chiapas, and Yucatan by Stephens, John Lloyd
Publication Date: 1867
Stephens was one of the great world travelers of the first half of the 19th century. He and illustrator Frederick Catherwood were the first to visit many of the Maya sites, and no one had previously documented the sites in such rich detail as they.