Guides: Alumni Travel Reading 2018-2019: Cruising the Rhône River

Bibliographer

Selected and Annotated By:

Rebecca Stuhr

Director, Liaison Services

Librarian for Classical Studies

stuhrreb@pobox.upenn.edu

Provence

My Twenty-Five Years in Provence by Peter Mayle
Call Number: Van Pelt Library DC611.P961 M35 2018
ISBN: 9780451494528
Publication Date: 2018
Well known author Peter Mayle provides his recollections from twenty-five years in the South of France
Public Parks, Private Gardens by Colta Ives
Call Number: Fine Arts Library. N8234.P3 I94 2018
ISBN: 9781588395849
Publication Date: 2018
Masterworks by great Romantic, Impressionist, and early modern artists are presented in relationship to the 19th-century horticultural revolution that transformed the landscape of France.
Provence by Lawrence Durrell
Call Number: DC611.P961 D89 1990
ISBN: 9781559702478
Publication Date: 1994
Lawrence Durrell, made Provence his home for 30 years. In this, his last book, he describes the culture and history of the area.
Provence: A Cultural History by Martin Garrett
Call Number: DC611.P964 G37 2006
ISBN: 9780195309577
Publication Date: 2006
Through its architecture, literature, landscape, and popular culture, this book analyzes and celebrates the region.

Reading while traveling

Murderous Mistral: A Provence Mystery by Cay Rademacher
Call Number: Van Pelt Library PT2678.A238 M6713 2017
ISBN: 9781250110701
Publication Date: 2017
International Dagger Award shortlisted author of The Murderer in Ruins, Cay Rademacher, delivers a beautifully atmospheric new story.
Dressed for Death in Burgundy by Susan C. Shea
ISBN: 9781250113023
Publication Date: 2018
After finding herself mixed up in a murder investigation the previous Summer, Katherine Goff's life simply has not been the same. When Katherine stumbles across a body in the local museum during a tour, she finds herself caught up once again.
The Lover, Wartime Writings, Practicalities by Marguerite Duras
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. PQ2607.U8245 A6 2018
ISBN: 9781101907931
Publication Date: 2017
A new edition of the French writer's most famous novel, her wartime writings and a collection of autobiographical essays.
Such Fine Boys by Patrick Modian
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. PQ2673.O3 D413 2017
ISBN: 9780300223347
Publication Date: 2017
The works of Patrick Modiano, recent Nobel Prize winner, are beginning to appear in English translation. In this novel, Modiano presents the tale of adolescent schoolmates at the exclusive Valvert School on the outskirts of Paris: "abandoned children of privilege, left to create new family ties among themselves."

Welcome to the Cruising the Rhône River Guide

Roman Theatre of Orange. Photo by Rogerio Camboim S A and used under a Creative Combines BY 2.0 license

For more information, please visit Penn Alumni Travel site.

Provence Early 20th Century

From La Provence by Gonzague Truc digitized and available through Hathitrust.org

Wines of France by Ernest and Alfred Vizetelly, Published in 1908

Available for viewing online at Hathitrust.org

The Wines of Burgundy, Maconnais and Beaujolais
A chapter from The Wines of France, 1908 available as a public domain document at hathitrust.org

More on Wine

Bordeaux/Burgundy: A Vintage Rivalry by Jean-Robert Pitte and M. B. DeBevoise (Translator)
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. TP553 .P5713 2008
ISBN: 9780520249400
Publication Date: 2008
Seeking to penetrate the mysteries of two great wine regions Jean-Robert Pitte embarks upon an evocative and fascinating exploration of the land, people, and wines of Bordeaux and Burgundy.
French Wine: A History by Rod Phillips
Call Number: Van Pelt Library TP553 .P48 2016
ISBN: 9780520285231
Publication Date: 2016
French Wine covers the history of wine in France from Etruscan, Greek, and Roman imports and the adoption of wine by beer-drinking Gauls to its present status within the global marketplace. Rod Phillips places the history of grape growing and winemaking in each of the country's major regions within broad historical and cultural contexts.
Land and Wine: The French Terroir by Charles Frankel
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. SB387.8.F8 F755 2014
ISBN: 9780226014692
Publication Date: 2014
Scientist Charles Frankel takes readers on a tour of the French winemaking regions to illustrate how the soil, underlying bedrock, relief, and microclimate shape the personality of a wine. Burgundy and Provence are among the regions that Frankel explores.

France

Roman Architecture in Provence by James C. Anderson
Call Number: Fine Arts Library. NA335.P76 A53 2012
ISBN: 9780521825207
Publication Date: 2012
This book provides a survey of the architecture and urbanism of Provence during the Roman era.

Scroll through the text here, or view the entire book at Hathitrust.org. Available through the Public Domain
Description de deux monumens antiques qui subsistent près la ville de Saint-Remy en Provence ...1779 par M. l'Abbé Lamy.

A Literary Tour de France: The World of Books on the Even of the French Revolution by Robert Darnton
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. Z305 .D34 2018
ISBN: 9780195144512
Publication Date: 2018
Historian and librarian Robert Darnton provides this tour of 18th C. French literary life through details gathered from letters and documents from authors, publishers, printers, paper millers, type founders, ink manufacturers, and others.
Avignon and Its Papacy, 1309-1417 by Joëlle Rollo-Koster
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. DC801.A96 R59 2015
ISBN: 9781442215320
Publication Date: 2015
With the arrival of Clement V in 1309, seven popes ruled the Western Church from Avignon until 1378. Jo lle Rollo-Koster traces the story of the transplanted papacy in Avignon, the city the popes transformed into their capital.
French Painting from the Sixteenth to the Eighteenth Century: Catalogue Raisonne of the Calvet Museum in Avignon by Georges Brunel
Call Number: Fine Arts Library. ND544 .P45513 2015
ISBN: 9788836628957
Publication Date: 2015
Visit the museum's Web site, or review the book, available from libraries.
Charles the Bold: The Splendour of Burgundy by Susan Marti, et al.
Call Number: Fine Arts Library. DC611.B781 K3713 2009
ISBN: 9789061538592
Publication Date: 2009
Catalog of an exhibition held at Historisches Museum Bern, Apr. 25-Aug. 24, 2008, Bruggemuseum & Groeningemuseum Brügge, Mar. 27-Jul. 21, 2009 and Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna, Sept. 15, 2009-Jan. 10, 2010.
France: A History from Gaul to Gaulle by John Julius Norwich
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. DC38 .N647 2018
ISBN: 9781473663831
Publication Date: 2018
From Roman generals and Gallic chieftains, to Charlemagne through Marie Antoinette and the storming of the Bastille to Vichy, the Resistance and beyond, Norwich provides a lively history for his readers.