Guides: Alumni Travel Reading 2018-2019: The Adriatic and Aegean

Dubrovnik, Croatia

Dubrovnik Rooftops. Image by Les Haines. Obtained on flickr with Creative Commons.

Culture & History of Croatia

Culture and Customs of Croatia by Marilyn Cvitanic
Call Number: DR1522 .C85 2011
ISBN: 9780313351174
Publication Date: 2011
An expert guide to the present-day cultural life of Croatia and how it has been influenced by the nation's tumultuous past. Presents photographs of historic and contemporary architecture, landscapes, markets and foods, traditional and contemporary dress, sporting events, and more. From the publisher.
After Yugoslavia by Radmila Gorup (General Editor)
Call Number: DR1317 .A34 2013
ISBN: 0804784027
Publication Date: 2013
Moving and informative text on the cultural gains and losses following the dissolution of Yugoslavia in 2006. Mixture of personal essays and scholarly articles.
Dubrovnik: A History. by Robin Harris
Call Number: DR1645.D8 H37 2003
ISBN: 0863563325
Publication Date: 2006
Comprehensive history of the Dubrovnik city-state in southern Croatia, facing the Adriatic Sea. Includes such topics as its emergence in the 7th century, to dangers posed by Venetian plotters, its survival from a tragic earthquake in the 1660s, to its conquest by Napoleon, and its modern-day besieging by the Yugslav army. Dubrovnik’s diplomatic expertise and political stamina throughout history are the stuff of legend.

Split & Korcula

Split, Croatia. Image by Elena. Obtained on flickr with a Creative Commons license.

Town of Korcula, Croatia. Photo by user sporki. Taken summer 2004. Obtained on Wikimedia Commons with a GNU license.

History and Traven in the Aegean and Adriatic

In Search of the Classical World: An Introduction to the Ancient Aegean by Dudley Moore
Call Number: University Museum Library. DF77 .M65 2015
ISBN: 9781443878135
Publication Date: 2015
This book provides an introduction to the complex world of the ancient societies of the Aegean, offering general insights into the Aegean civilisations of the Minoans, the Mycenaeans, the Trojans of the Bronze Age, and the later Classical Greeks.
Mycenaean Central Greece and the Aegean World by Margaretha Kramer-Hajos
Call Number: University Museum Library. DF261.E9 K73 2016
ISBN: 9781107107540
Publication Date: 2016
Kramer-Hajos research and analysis contributes new insights to our understanding of the mechanics and complexity of the Bronze Age Aegean collapse.
Description of the Aegean and Other Islands: A Fascimilie of the Manuscript at the James Bell Ford Library, University of Minnesota by Cristoforo Buondelmonti; Henricus Martellus Germanus; Evelyn Edson; James Ford Bell Library Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. DF895 .B8513 2018
ISBN: 9781599103648
Publication Date: 2017
Henricus Martellus Germanus' copy of Cristoforo Buondelmonti's Description of the Archipelago, the Cyclades, and the Other Islands.

Find a different version of this book through Hathitrust.org

Mediterranean Cuisine: Ancient & Modern

A Taste of Croatia by Karen Evenden
ISBN: 0980012007
Publication Date: 2007
Cookbook and travel memoir dedicated to Croatia's Adriatic coast. Full of recipes, images, and food and cultural facts. The author spent three years sailing near Croatia, collecting stories along the way.
The Classical Cookbook by Andrew Dalby; Sally Grainger
ISBN: 9781606061107
Publication Date: 2012
The Classical Cookbook was the first book about dining to draw from both ancient Greek and Roman Writings (from the publisher). Images of frescoes, mosaics, vases and more adorn the pages, alongside recipes that recreate fare inspired by Greek symposia or drinking parties and by meals in classic texts such as Homer’s Odyssey. Follow the recipes to enjoy ancient Mediterranean food cooked in your modern kitchen!
Secrets from the Greek Kitchen: Cooking, Skill, and Everyday Life on an Aegean Island by David E. Sutton
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. TX723.5.G8 S88 2014
ISBN: 0520280555
Publication Date: 2014
Secrets from the Greek Kitchen explores how cooking skills, practices, and knowledge on the island of Kalymnos are reinforced or transformed by contemporary events.

Adriatic & Aegean

Grand Canal, Venice. Image by Pat Hayes. Obtained on flickr with Creative Commons license.

Bibliographer

Selected and Annotated By:

Kelsey LeClair
Administrative Assistant, Penn Libraries

Updated and edited by:
Emily Benenhaley
Administrative Assistant

For more information about this Penn excursion, please visit the Penn Alumni Travel website.

Inside the National Archeological Museum of Athens

Explore ancient Grecian treasures from of the National Archeological Museum of Athens through the series 'Museum Secrets' from the BBC. Length: 45-minutes

Pennkey holders may view this documentary:

http://upenn.kanopystreaming.com/video/inside-national-archeological-museum-athens

Delphi

Delphi: A History of the Center of the Ancient World by Michael Scott
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. DF261.D35 S36 2014
ISBN: 9780691150819
Publication Date: 2014
The oracle and sanctuary of the Greek god Apollo at Delphi were known as the "omphalos"--the "center" or "navel"--of the ancient world for more than 1000 years. In this account, Scott explores Delphi from the literary and archaeological evidence surrounding the site. He investigates his centrality in both Greek and Roman societies.

Theater of Delphi. Image by Ronny Siegel. Obtained on flickr with Creative Commons.

The Oracle by William J. Broad
Call Number: DF261.D35 B75 2006
ISBN: 1594200815
Publication Date: 2006
In this work, Science journalist Broad tells a story that blends history and science to describe how a team of scientists, working from clues in ancient literature, as well as from the latest findings in geology, uncovered scientific evidence to explain the Oracle's powers. From the publisher.

Things Seen in Venice: Published in 1912

Early travel guide to the city of Venice. Includes over 50 illustrations and photographs of sights, paired with descriptive chapters. Digitized by Internet Archive and the University of California.

View on the Hathi Trust site here: https://hdl.handle.net/2027/uc2.ark:/13960/t59c7619p

Acropolis of Athens

Parthenon, Acropolis, Athens. Image by Sharon Mollerus. Obtained on flickr with Creative Commons.

Athens

Athens by James H. S. McGregor
Call Number: DF919 .M35 2014
ISBN: 9780674047723
Publication Date: 2014
While the Acropolis remains the city's anchor, Athens' vibrant culture extends far beyond the Greek city's antique boundaries (from the publisher.) McGregor prepares visitors to Athens with images and historical background of modern and ancient sites from each facet of Athenian history. From the hands of Alexander the Great to the Roman Empire, to ownership of Byzantine Christians, crusaders, and the Ottoman conquest, to Greek independence and its battles with occupation by the Nazis and modern trials with economic crises, Athens' rich and varied history is presented on these pages.
Periclean Athens by P. J. Rhodes
Call Number: Van Pelt DF227 .R486 2018
ISBN: 9781350014954
Publication Date: 2018
In the second and third quarters of the fifth century BC, when Athens became both politically and culturally dominant in the Greek world, Pericles was the leading figure in the city’s public life. This introduction provides key aspects of this period of ancient Greek history.

Venice

Venice by Joanne M. Ferraro
Call Number: DG676 .F47 2012
ISBN: 9780521883597
Publication Date: 2012
This book offers a history of the floating city of Venice from its founding to the present day. Highlights include sections about the unique construction of the city and the Asian, European and North African exchange networks that made it vibrant and ethnically diverse.The author discusses the many political, economic, environmental, social, and cultural themes that appear over the course of its fascinating history.

Saint Mark Square, Venice. Image by Moyan Brenn. Obtained on flickr with a Creative Commons license.

Venice Carnival Mask. Image by Moyan Brenn. Obtained on flickr with a Creative Commons license.

Art in Venice

Art of Renaissance Venice, 1400-1600 by Loren Partridge
Call Number: N6921.V5 P28 2015
ISBN: 9780520281790
Publication Date: 2015
Illustrated overview of Venetian paintings, sculptures, and architecture produced between 1400-1600. Provides informative chapters on the major types of Venetian art, their patronage, and the cultural reasons behind their creation.
The Mermaids of Venice by Alison Luchs
Call Number: N7763.S43 L83 2010x
ISBN: 9781905375455
Publication Date: 2010
Venetian Renaissance art teems with sea monsters, marine denizens that are half-human and hybrid animal. These aquatic beasts were ubiquitous, appearing on the pages and covers of books, decorating tombs and churches, in civic settings and palaces, and in private homes throughout Venice.
Woodcarving and Woodcarvers in Venice, 1350-1500 by Anne Markham Schulz
Call Number: NK9752.V46 S38 2011
ISBN: 9788870384864
Publication Date: 2011
One of the first works discussing Venetian woodcarving and woodcarvers by looking at 13 pieces made both inside and outside of Venice. This book covers production topics such as materials and techniques, and social topics like patronage history of the profession.