Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2014-01-27
Guiding patient behavior is as important as ever for the practicing dentist, and the behavior of pediatric patients is perhaps the most challenging to manage. Drs. Wright and Kupietzky here update Dr. Wright's classic work on managing pediatric dental patients. Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children,2nd Edition, has been entirely rewritten and includes the latest and most effective management strategies from an international team of experts in the field. The book addresses the influence of family and parenting styles on children's behavior and the factors that determine how children behave in the dental office. Pharmacological and non-pharmacological management techniques are described in depth, as are techniques for dealing with special needs patients. Clinical scenarios are described throughout the book, with practical application of the taught principles. The final part of the book covers the dental environment--training office personnel to manage children's behavior, practical considerations for behavior guidance, and the effects of the physical dental office environment. Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children,2nd Edition, is ideal for pediatric residents, dental students, and practicing dentists who see children on a regular basis.
McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
You can count on McDonald: the go-to source for expert, complete coverage of oral care for infants, children, and teenagers for over half a century. McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent, 10th Edition discusses pediatric examination, development, morphology, eruption of the teeth, and dental caries in depth - and emphasizes prevention and the treatment of the medically compromised patient. Boasting a new design and handy Evolve site, this new edition by Jeffrey A. Dean equips you with the latest diagnostic and treatment recommendations in the fast-growing field of pediatric dentistry. Complete, one-source coverage includes the best patient outcomes for all of the major pediatric treatments in prosthodontics, restorative dentistry, trauma management, occlusion, gingivitis and periodontal disease, and facial esthetics. A clinical focus includes topics such as such as radiographic techniques, dental materials, pit and fissure sealants, and management of cleft lip and palate. Practical discussions include practice management and how to deal with child abuse and neglect. Evolve site provides you with the best learning tools and resources. UPDATED! More emphasis on preventative care and treatment of medically compromised patients helps you provide more effective care. NEW! Easier-to-follow design.
Pediatric Dentistry by
Call Number: RK55.C5 P4 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-29
Now in full color, this text uses a unique age-specific organization to discuss all aspects of pediatric dentistry from infancy through adolescence. Each age-specific section covers the physical, cognitive, emotional, and social changes that children experience, as well as the epidemiology of dental disease at that age. Other chapters explore the examination, treatment planning, radiographic concerns, prevention, trauma, restorative dentistry, pulp therapy, orthodontics, and behavior management of each age range. Unique organization begins with an introduction to the basic information and topics pertinent to children of all ages, then divides up the rest of the text by age group to cover the specific changes the child experiences physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially. In most cases, particular dental issues are discussed only once, at the point in a child's development at which they are most appropriate. Section on children from conception to age three covers conditions such as cleft palate, disturbances in calcification, unusual numbers of teeth, oral habits, caries, and the development of malocclusions that start during these years. Chapter on aesthetic restorative dentistry for the adolescent looks at material selection, tooth color and form, diastemas, discolored teeth, bleaching and more. Chapter on sport dentistry and mouth protection covers how to evaluate child/adolescent athletes, the different types of mouth protection available, and professional activities in sports dentistry. Chapter on the diagnosis of oral lesions and developmental anomalies uses tables and extensive illustrations to depict developmental anomalies, white soft tissue lesions and enlargements, dark soft tissue lesions, ulcerative lesions, radiolucent lesions of bone, mixed radiolucent and radiopaque lesions of bone. NEW! Full-color design creates an immediate visual impact and better illustrates concepts and dental conditions.
Pediatric Dentistry [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2018-07-18
Provide superior oral and dental care to children of all ages! Pediatric Dentistry: Infancy through Adolescence Expert Consult, 6th Edition provides comprehensive coverage of oral care for infants, children, teenagers, and medically compromised pediatric patients. Organized by age group, the text covers examination, diagnosis, and treatment planning, as well as topics such as the prevention of dental disease, traumatic injuries, orthodontics, and restorative dentistry. From a team of accomplished authors and contributors led by Arthur J. Nowak, this edition includes a new Expert Consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text. UNIQUE! Age-specific organization separates sections and chapters by age group to cover specific changes the child experiences physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially. Fundamentals of Pediatric Dentistry section covers basic information on children of all ages, including topics such as local and systemic diseases, pediatric physiology, cariology, pain control, and medical emergencies. Coverage of current trends and challenges emphasizes the prevention of dental diseases and reflects pediatric dentistry as it is practiced today. UPDATED coverage of caries risk assessment in children reflects the evolution of evidence-based oral health care. More than 1,000 full-color photos and illustrations show dental conditions and treatments. NEW and UNIQUE! Expert Consult platform offers additional content and includes case studies along with procedural videos for practical, real-world application. NEW chapters cover cariology, pain control, and cleft lip and palate; other updates include infant oral health, pit and fissure sealants, regenerative endodontics, and the risk factors surrounding the transition from adolescence to adulthood. NEW! Greater diversity of contributors includes expert perspectives from all over the world. NEW! Expert Consult case studies are included in 33 chapters. NEW! Video clips of procedures are included in the Expert Consult case studies. NEW! Review questions and answers are included in the Expert Consult case studies, with three questions per case study.
Textbook and Color Atlas of Traumatic Injuries to the Teeth [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Textbook and Color Atlas of Traumatic Injuries to the Teeth, Fifth Edition encompasses the full scope of acute dental trauma, including all aspects of interdisciplinary treatment. This new edition embraces the significant advances made in the subject of dental traumatology since the publication of the previous edition in 2007. Thoroughly updated throughout, it includes eight new chapters, including one chapter focused on the development of bioengineered teeth and another on clinical regenerative endodontics. Providing the theoretical background behind the clinical applications, the text is supplemented by a step-by-step online guide to procedures at www.dentaltraumaguide.org. The book is also filled with full-color illustrations throughout--making it the ultimate guide for anyone treating individuals afflicted with dental injuries caused by traffic accidents, sporting injuries, violent assaults, and other falls, crashes, or injuries. New edition of the definitive reference on dental traumatology Thoroughly revised and updated with a modern look and feel Eight new chapters on innovative developments in the field Contributions from world-renowned authors and editors Linked to www.dentaltraumaguide.org with a specific chapter on how the book complements the online guide This comprehensive textbook is an invaluable reference for undergraduate BDS courses worldwide, as well as a core text for postgraduate pediatric, oral surgery, and endodontics courses.