Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Endodontic Microbiology [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2009-04-13
Endodontic Microbiology is a major new work on the microbiology and clinical treatment of endodontic pathosis. Composed of contributions from the leading educators and researchers in the field, this authoritative text offers contemporary evidence and scholarship, bringing the science of endodontic microbiology to clinical practice. Endodontic Microbiology emphasizes the importance of the biological sciences to understanding endodontic disease and its effective management. The book thoroughly examines the expanding and evolving body of knowledge about endodontic microbiology. The topics covered include persistent and resistant microorganisms, virulence factors, and systemic dissemination of endodontic microorganisms. Written by preeminent experts, Endodontic Microbiology summarizes contemporary thought in the field.
Essential Microbiology for Dentistry by
Call Number: QR47 .S26 2012
Publication Date: 2011-09-28
The new edition of this highly successful book continues to offer readers everything they require to gain a full understanding of microbiology as it relates to modern dental practice. Clearly written and in full colour throughout, the book uniquely divides the subject of microbiology into six discrete sections to relate the many aspects of microbiology for dental practice in a logical, easy-to-understand manner. The first part of the book covers the principles of general microbiology and is followed by a clear and straightforward account of basic immunology. The volume then addresses mechanisms of disease, concentrating clearly on the micro-organisms that are relevant to the dentist. The major infections of each organ system are discussed as they relate to dental practice together with a detailed exploration of oral microbiology. The book finally concludes with a practical discussion of cross-infection and control. The rich combination of easy-to-read text together with the extensive artwork programme continues to make Essential Microbiology for Dentistry the first choice of microbiology textbook for many students of dentistry worldwide. Comprehensive coverage of the subject area makes the book suitable for all aspects of the curriculum Almost 300 tables and illustrations present clinical, diagnostic and practical information in an easy-to-follow manner Contains 'Key Facts' boxes to act as useful aide-mémoires Self-assessment sections at the end of each chapter allow students to assess their understanding in key areas of knowledge Addresses the subject on a strictly 'need-to-know for the dentist' approach [e.g. only salient bacteria are included with thumbnail sketches of viruses and fungi] Contains a detailed - and now expanded - glossary and abbreviations list Contains the latest organism nomenclature and information regarding unculturable bacteria and novel molecular technology Includes a highly expanded section on oral biofilms and their relevance to systemic disease such as heart disease, diabetes, adverse pregnancy outcomes and nosocomial pneumonia Contains a brand new section on oral immunology - prepared by guest authors - as relevant to dentistry Contains a new section on the microbiology of perimplantitis Presents a fully revised and expanded section on infection control in dentistry encompassing British and American guidelines
Jawetz Melnick & Adelbergs Medical Microbiology 27 E [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Understand the clinically important aspects of microbiology with this full-color review Includes more than 20 case studies A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The twenty-seventh edition of Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology delivers a concise, up-to-date overview of the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness. Linking fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections, this classic text has been updated throughout to reflect the tremendous expansion of medical knowledge afforded by molecular mechanisms, advances in our understanding of microbial pathogenesis, and the discovery of novel pathogens. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections. Here's why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE review: 650+ USMLE-style review questions 300+ informative tables and illustrations 23 case studies to sharpen you differential diagnosis and management skills An easy-to-access list of medically important microorganisms Coverage that reflects the latest techniques in laboratory and diagnostic technologies Full-color images and micrographs Chapter-ending summaries Chapter concept checks Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, virology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline.
Lippincott's Illustrated Review : Microbiology by
Call Number: QR62 .S775 2013
Publication Date: 2012-10-20
A MUST READ for mastering essential concepts in microbiology Well-known and widely used for their hallmark illustrations, Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews bring concepts to vibrant life. Students rely on LIR for quick review, easier assimilation, and understanding of large amounts of critical, complex material. * Outline format and full-color illustrations: More than 400 color illustrations and color-coded summaries provide key information at a glance and helpful visual explanations * Illustrated case studies and questions to support USMLE prep: Expanded discussions reinforce key concepts and review questions with detailed rationales allow for self-assessment * New bookmark features mini-index of important microorganisms for quick and easy reference "Microbiology can be an overwhelming topic, but the pictures, concise descriptions, and parallel structure of each chapter helps to make the subject easier to understand and digest." - Amelia Keaton, medical student "I think this book better meets the needs of the market because of its review chapters and disease summaries, its review questions, and its excellent photographs of clinical manifestations of microbial disease. I also found this book easier to read and study from." - Devorah Segal, medical student FREE online! (with purchase of the text) * Interactive question bank for test-taking practice * Fully searchable eBook for studying on-the-go
Marsh and Martin's Oral Microbiology by
Call Number: QR47 .M33 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-30
Marsh and Martins' Oral Microbiology continues to offer the essentials of oral microbiology in an easy-to-read, readily digestible format. Commencing with a description of the healthy mouth and the properties of the resident oral microbiota, the new edition of this popular textbook then explores the formation and consequences of plaque development, plaque-mediated disease, orofacial infection, antimicrobial agents and prophylaxis, orofacial fungal and viral infections, and the relationship between oral microbiota and systemic disease. The book is completed by a chapter on infection control. Each chapter is succinct and includes essential information in a concise format - thereby saving the reader valuable time. The book is presented with an abundance of tables, photographs and artworks to make the subject as engaging as possible - numerous 'Key Point' boxes aid retention. Marsh and Martins' Oral Microbiology is suitable for undergraduate and postgraduate dental students, research workers, and a wide range of clinical dental professionals. Successfully describes the complex relationship between the resident oral microbiota and the host in health and disease Retains a unique ecological approach to the subject which provides a clear set of principles to explain whether the microbiota will have a beneficial or an adverse relationship with the host at a particular site Exploration of the biological and clinical significance of the oral microbiota in the form of a biofilm on dental and mucosal surfaces Completely updated throughout by a new author team! Self-assessment questions in each chapter allow readers to monitor their progress Updated design with 'Key Points' throughout aids learning Reflects the impact that the genomic era has had on the field Expanded sections on infection control as well as therapeutic and prophylactic antibiotic use New sections on the benefits of the resident oral microbiota and on current concepts of factors driving dysbiosis in periodontal disease New chapter on the emerging role of oral microorganisms in systemic diseases
Medical Microbiology [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
The foremost text in this complex and fast-changing field, Medical Microbiology, 9th Edition, provides concise, up-to-date, and understandable explanations of key concepts in medical microbiology, immunology, and the microbes that cause human disease. Clear, engaging coverage of basic principles, immunology, laboratory diagnosis, bacteriology, virology, mycology, and parasitology help you master the essentials of microbiology?effectively preparing you for your coursework, exams, and beyond. Features significant new information on the human microbiome and its influence on the immune and other body systems, and new developments in microbial diagnosis, treatment, diseases, and pathogens. Updates every chapter with state-of-the-art information and current literature citations. Summarizes detailed information in tabular format rather than in lengthy text. Provides review questions at the end of each chapter that correlate basic science with clinical practice. Features clinical cases that illustrate the epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of infectious diseases. Introduces microbe chapters with summaries and trigger words for easy review. Highlights the text with clear, colorful figures, clinical photographs, and images that help you visualize the clinical presentation of infections. Offers additional study features online, including 200 self-assessment questions, microscopic images of the microbes, videos, and a new integrating chapter that provides hyperlinks between the microbes, the organ systems that they affect, and their diseases. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Molecular Biology of the Cell by
Call Number: QH581.2 .M64 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-18
As the amount of information in biology expands dramatically, it becomes increasingly important for textbooks to distill the vast amount of scientific knowledge into concise principles and enduring concepts. As with previous editions, Molecular Biology of the Cell, Sixth Edition accomplishes this goal with clear writing and beautiful illustrations. The Sixth Edition has been extensively revised and updated with the latest research in the field of cell biology, and it provides an exceptional framework for teaching and learning. The entire illustration program has been greatly enhanced. Protein structures better illustrate structure-function relationships, icons are simpler and more consistent within and between chapters, and micrographs have been refreshed and updated with newer, clearer, or better images. As a new feature, each chapter now contains intriguing open-ended questions highlighting "What We Don't Know," introducing students to challenging areas of future research. Updated end-of-chapter problems reflect new research discussed in the text. Thought-provoking end-of-chapter questions have been expanded to all chapters, including questions on developmental biology, tissues and stem cells, the immune system, and pathogens.
Oral Microbiology by
Call Number: QR47 .M33 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-29
Now expanded and in full colour throughout, ORAL MICROBIOLOGY retains its unique ecological approach to the subject which helps the reader determine whether an organism will have a pathogenic or commensal relationship at a given site. In the new edition, greater emphasis is placed on the role of current molecular biology techniques in the understanding of oral microbes. The book also provides insight into current therapeutic and prophylactic antibiotic use, infection control, and the relationships between oral and general health. New authorship also offers additional expertise on viral and fungal pathogens and the role of oral microbes in acute and chronic infections. Successfully describes the complex relationship between the resident oral microflora and the host in health and disease Retains a unique ecological approach to the subject which benefits the reader by providing a clear set of principles to explain the underlying issues that determine whether the microflora will have a beneficial or an adverse relationship with the host at a particular site Published for the first time in full colour, Oral Microbiology has been expanded and completely rewritten with almost 100 brand new illustrations Includes discussion of the latest molecular biology techniques which have revolutionized our knowledge of oral microbes Highlights the biological and clinical significance of the existence of the oral microflora in the form of a biofilm on dental and mucosal surfaces Includes contemporary views on therapeutic and prophylactic antibiotic use, infection control, and the relationships between oral and general health New authorship offers further expertise on viral and fungal pathogens and the role of oral microbes in acute and chronic infections
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology 15E [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2018-05-10
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most concise, clinically relevant, and current review of medical microbiology and immunology Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology is a succinct, high-yield review of the medically important aspects of microbiology and immunology. It covers both the basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology and also discusses important infectious diseases using an organ system approach. The book emphasizes the real-world clinical application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases and offers a unique mix of narrative text, color images, tables and figures, Q&A, and clinical vignettes. * Content is valuable to any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions test your knowledge and understanding * 50 clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * A complete USMLE-style practice exam consisting of 80 questions helps you prepare for the exam * Pearls impart important basic science information helpful in answering questions on the USMLE * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Self-assessment questions with answers appear at the end of each chapter * Color images depict clinically important findings, such as infectious disease lesions * Gram stains of bacteria, electron micrographs of viruses, and microscopic images depict fungi, protozoa, and worms * Chapters on infectious diseases from an organ system perspective
Schaechter's Mechanisms of Microbial Disease [Electronic Book] by
Publication Date: 2012-06-28
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Schaechter's Mechanisms of Microbial Disease provides students with a thorough understanding of microbial agents and the pathophysiology of microbial diseases. The text is universally praised for "telling the story of a pathogen" in an engaging way, facilitating learning and recall by emphasizing unifying principles and paradigms, rather than forcing students to memorize isolated facts by rote. The table of contents is uniquely organized by microbial class and by organ system, making it equally at home in traditional and systems-based curricula. Case studies with problem-solving questions give students insight into clinical applications of microbiology, which is ideal for problem-based learning.