Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data, Research Interpretation, and Evidence-Based Dentistry
Clinical Research in Oral Health [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2010-03-16
Clinical Research in Oral Health surveys the essentials of clinical research in oral health, anchoring these principles within the specific context of the oral health arena. Addressing research questions exclusively applicable to dentistry and oral health, the book thoroughly illustrates the principles and practice of oral health clinical research. Clinical Research in Oral Health also clarifies the framework of regulatory issues and presents emerging concepts in clinical translation, relating the research principles to clinical improvement.
Critical Thinking [Electronic Resources] by
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
The Internet has given us access to an unprecedented amount of information, but this development also facilitates the spread of misinformation if we do not think critically and evaluate what we read. The third edition of this classic textbook has been revised based on developments in biomedical research practices over the past decade to provide readers with the most up-to-date resource for navigating the ever-expanding world of dental literature. The book covers rhetoric and logic, the scientific method, components of scientific papers, research strategies, probability and statistics, diagnostic tools and testing, and experiment design. The chapter about searching the dental literature has been updated with the most current resources and search techniques available. A new chapter about clinical decision making uses a decision tree analysis with worked-out calculations to show how critical thinking skills can be used to select the most appropriate treatment decision in a clinical scenario; this is followed by a whole chapter of exercises in critical thinking. This book emphasizes how readers can practically apply critical thinking skills to evaluate scientific literature and thereby make the most informed decisions for their patients and themselves.
Dental Statistics Made Easy [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2016-11-03
This essential textbook presents the basics of dental statistics in an accessible way, combining explanation in non-technical language with key messages, practical examples, suggestions for further reading and exercises complete with detailed solutions. There is an emphasis on the principles and application of statistics without the use of algebra. The statistical material is strongly rooted in practical examples drawn from a wide range of journal articles representing both dental health care delivery and clinical dentistry. The perspective is international, with papers drawn from a variety of settings around the world. Many articles are recent and report contemporary developments in dental care. The intended audience includes dental students and practitioners, those engaged in dental research and other health care professionals. For students and tutors, it covers the undergraduate curriculum, and the exercises and solutions make it ideal for course use. For practitioners and researchers it provides the first principles of study design, accessing the dental literature, and the preparation and publication of original dental research.
Evidence-Based Decision Making by
Call Number: RK51.5 .E95 2009
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
This concise, hands-on text provides dental hygiene and dentistry students and practitioners with a method for making evidence-based decisions in practice. The book presents a step-by-step approach to mastering the five essential skills of evidence-based decision making%formulating patient-centered questions, searching for the appropriate evidence, critically appraising the evidence, applying the evidence to practice, and evaluating the process. Five Case Scenarios are used throughout the book in coordination with these skills and cover the broad areas of therapy/prevention, diagnosis, etiology/harm/causation, and prognosis. Each chapter has objectives, suggested activities, a quiz, critical thinking questions, and exercises. A companion Website includes online tutorials, additional cases, and links to additional resources. http://thepoint.lww.com/product/isbn/9780781765336
Evidence-Based Dentistry by
Call Number: RK53 .H33 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-29
This introduction to Evidence-Based Dentistry provides amuch-needed orientation in the subject for students andprofessionals alike. It is a ground-level book for those seeking tounderstand evidence-based dentistry and its significance forclinical practice. The book is anchored in the dental literature:the majority of the chapters offer guidance on interpreting a fullpublished paper; where both the subject of the paper and the studydesign is of relevance to the field of dentistry. Each chapter is organised in a similar way, providing a structuredapproach to reading and understanding research articles orcommercial product information. In this respect, Evidence-BasedDentistry is designed as an introduction to understanding publishedresearch and its implications for the dental surgery; rather thanas a guide on undertaking research. * Incorporates topical published papers in order to rpovide workedexamples * Explains the most6 common forms of research used indentistry * Unlocks basic statistical and epidemiological concepts, alongwith key terms * Enables the reader to identify the research question, assessaspects of study design, evaluate the strengths and weaknesses ofpapers and understand their clinical relevance * Tables, boxes and figures are used extensively to present coreinformation. Useful templates are also provided, which readers mayuse/adapt for analysis, including study clubs.
Evidence-Based Dentistry: Managing Information for Better Practice by
Call Number: RK53 .E95 2008
Publication Date: 2008
In the modern world, new information which is constantly being produced that affects patient treatment, and clinicians need the skills to evaluate and apply pertinent information into their practice. This book outlines the key concepts of evidence-based dentistry and illustrates the process from analysis to implementation using relevant clinical examples.
Evidence-Based Practice Toward Optimizing Clinical Outcomes by
Call Number: Biomed R723.7 .E964 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-14
Health care is witnessing an explosion of fundamental, clinical and translational research evidence. The emerging paradigm of evidence-based health care rests on the judicious integration of the patient needs/wants, the provider's expertise, and the best available research evidence in the treatment plan. The purpose of this book is to discuss the promise and the limitations of incorporating the best available evidence in clinical practice. It seeks to characterize and define how best available research evidence can be used in clinical practice and to what respect it applies to current public health issues.
How to Read a Paper [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2019-04-04
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Introduction to Statistical Methods for Clinical Trials by
Call Number: R853.C55 I58 2008
Publication Date: 2007-11-19
Clinical trials have become essential research tools for evaluating the benefits and risks of new interventions for the treatment and prevention of diseases, from cardiovascular disease to cancer to AIDS. Based on the authors' collective experiences in this field, Introduction to Statistical Methods for Clinical Trialspresents various statistical topics relevant to the design, monitoring, and analysis of a clinical trial. After reviewing the history, ethics, protocol, and regulatory issues of clinical trials, the book provides guidelines for formulating primary and secondary questions and translating clinical questions into statistical ones. It examines designs used in clinical trials, presents methods for determining sample size, and introduces constrained randomization procedures. The authors also discuss how various types of data must be collected to answer key questions in a trial. In addition, they explore common analysis methods, describe statistical methods that determine what an emerging trend represents, and present issues that arise in the analysis of data. The book concludes with suggestions for reporting trial results that are consistent with universal guidelines recommended by medical journals. Developed from a course taught at the University of Wisconsin for the past 25 years, this textbook provides a solid understanding of the statistical approaches used in the design, conduct, and analysis of clinical trials.
Medical Uses of Statistics by
Call Number: RA409 .M43 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-14
A new edition of the classic guide to the use of statistics inmedicine, featuring examples from articles in the New EnglandJournal of Medicine Medical Uses of Statistics has served as one of the mostinfluential works on the subject for physicians,physicians-in-training, and a myriad of healthcare experts who needa clear idea of the proper application of statistical techniques inclinical studies as well as the implications of theirinterpretation for clinical practice. This Third Editionmaintains the focus on the critical ideas, rather than themechanics, to give practitioners and students the resources theyneed to understand the statistical methods they encounter in modernmedical literature. Bringing together contributions from more than two dozendistinguished statisticians and medical doctors, this volumestresses the underlying concepts in areas such as randomizedtrials, survival analysis, genetics, linear regression,meta-analysis, and risk analysis. The Third Editionincludes: Numerous examples based on studies taken directly from the pagesof the New England Journal ofMedicine Two added chapters on statistics in genetics Two new chapters on the application of statistical methods tostudies in epidemiology New chapters on analyses of randomized trials, linearregression, categorical data analysis, meta-analysis, subgroupanalyses, and risk analysis Updated chapters on statistical thinking, crossover designs,p-values, survival analysis, and reporting research results A focus on helping readers to critically interpret publishedresults of clinical research Medical Uses of Statistics, Third Edition is a valuableresource for researchers and physicians working in anyhealth-related field. It is also an excellent supplemental book forcourses on medicine, biostatistics, and clinical research at theupper-undergraduate and graduate levels. You can also visit the NewEngland Journal of Medicine website for relatedinformation.
Research Writing in Dentistry [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2009-11-20
Research Writing in Dentistry provides you with a uniquely practical guide to selecting, designing, and writing up a research project. Of particular use to the dental student, both pre- and post-doctoral, this is a no-nonsense guide that presents concrete advice and information that can be absorbed quickly and effectively. By asking simple questions, this useful resource enables you to develop, analyze and present a program of research work. It begins with the basic principles of research: what it is and how to select a topic and plan a program. It then moves on to discuss study design, methods and materials, presenting results and undertaking a literature review. It concludes with a section on basic statistics and analysis. Precepts and guidance are illustrated throughout with examples from dentistry.
Statistical and Methodological Aspects of Oral Health Research [Electronic Resource]
Publication Date: 2009
Statistical and Methodological Aspects of Oral Health Research provides oral health researchers with an overview of the methodological aspects that are important in planning, conducting and analyzing their research projects whilst also providing biostatisticians with an idea of the statistical problems that arise when tackling oral health research questions.
This collection presents critical reflections on oral health research and offers advice on practical aspects of setting up research whilst introducing the reader to basic as well as advanced statistical methodology.