Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cawson's Essentials of Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine by
Call Number: RC815 .O34 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-30
Retaining the friendly and accessible approach that strongly characterised the success of previous editions, Cawson's Essentials of Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine, ninth edition continues to support a new generation of students as they develop an understanding of oral pathology and oral medicine, together with the systemic diseases that are relevant to the practice of dentistry. Prepared by an expert of international renown, the latest edition of this popular volume has been reorganized and fully updated throughout to accurately reflect the learning needs of today's student. Containing a rich array of photographs, artworks and helpful flow diagrams, the book also contains self-assessment to enable the learner to gauge his or her knowledge base within the framework of current undergraduate curricula. Cawson's Essentials of Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine, ninth edition will be ideal for undergraduate dental students worldwide and those in post-graduate training Brand new edition of the first textbook to integrate oral medicine, pathology and surgery in a practical, student-orientated fashion! Friendly, accessible writing style provides ready access to essential information Ample use of flow charts guide the student thorough the process of differential diagnosis for a range of conditions Evidenced-based throughout to help facilitate safe clinical practice Presents the latest national and international guidelines Helpful self-assessment provides an indication of the level of understanding and problem solving abilities expected at an undergraduate level Useful summary charts aid subject revision and understanding Expanded to meet the higher-level of understanding and application of knowledge required of students today Contains trusted PubMed ID references and websites to ensure relevance and immediacy Updated design - with helpful colour coding - aids reader engagement and retention of facts Improved illustration program helps clarify complex physiological processes and other challenging concepts
Clinical Outline of Oral Pathology [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Clinical Outline of Oral Pathology, Fourth Edition with full colour images, integrates the clinical approaches to basic oral pathology, oral radiology, and oral medicine with a primary objective of providing students with a protocol for developing differential diagnoses. The text guides students through the process of evaluating patient responses and clinical signs so as to limit the differential and ultimately arrive at a definitive diagnosis, and developing appropriate management and treatment. Diseases of the oral cavity are categorized according to presenting signs and symptoms.
Dental Radiography by
Call Number: RK309 .H36 2017
Publication Date: 2016-02-29
Set yourself up for success with this must-have oral radiography text. Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques gives you a comprehensive foundation for the safe, effective use of radiation in the modern dental office. This combination textbook and training manual features easy-to-understand content combined with step-by-step techniques and a stellar art program to help you apply what you've learned to practice. Plus, new content focuses on pediatrics and the latest in digital and three-dimensional technology! Comprehensive coverage offers all the information you need to know to prepare for board exams. Step-by-step procedures help ensure technique mastery and serve as a valuable reference tool. Technique Tips help you to recognize and prevent the most common performance pitfalls. Quiz questions provide valuable self-assessment of important concepts. Key terminology is highlighted in chapter discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Learning objectives and chapter summaries serve as goal-setting study tools. EXPANDED! Content on pediatrics/adolescents, digital imaging, and three-dimensional radiography ensures that you're prepared to practice in the modern dental office. UPDATED! Art program depicts the newest technology and equipment and includes new illustrations of anatomy and technique. UNIQUE! Helpful Hint boxes isolate challenging material and offer tips to aid your understanding. NEW! Laboratory Manual provides workbook-style questions and activities to reinforce concepts and step-by-step instructions for in-clinic experiences. UNIQUE! Chapter on three-dimensional imaging helps you to prepare to enter private practice. UNIQUE! Full-color presentation helps you comprehend complex content.
Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2016-02-05
Develop your skills in evaluation and dental treatment planning for all types of patients! Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 3rd Edition provides a full-color guide to creating treatment plans based on a comprehensive patient assessment. Using evidence-based research, this book shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. New chapters cover patient diagnosis and team-based treatment planning, and a new Evolve website includes videos and decision-making algorithms. Written by experienced dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this book is the only dental resource that combines patient examination and oral diagnosis with treatment planning. Clear, logical organization builds your understanding with sections on comprehensive patient evaluation, key treatment planning concepts, a detailed review of the five phases of planning treatment and guidelines for selecting the appropriate plan of care, and care planning for patients with special needs. In Clinical Practice boxes highlight situations that may be faced by the general dentist. What's the Evidence? boxes cite research articles affecting clinical decision-making and treatment planning strategies. Ethics in Dentistry boxes address ethical issues you may encounter in treatment planning. Review exercises in each chapter let you apply concepts to clinical practice. Expert authors and contributors provide a current, authoritative resource for effective treatment planning. Key Terms and a Glossary highlight and define important terminology. Evidence-based coverage demonstrates how to use research and clinical evidence in making treatment planning decisions. NEW Common Diagnoses in Dentistry chapter provides guidelines to making an accurate patient diagnosis prior to beginning treatment. NEW Interprofessional Treatment Planning chapter describes dental care in the context of a team-based collaborative approach, so that the dental treatment plan aligns with the overall treatment goals of the patient. NEW! Full-color photographs illustrate clinical principles and pathologies, and a colorful design highlights key content. UPDATED content reflects advances in dental techniques, materials, and patient treatment options based on research, clinical experience, and current literature. NEW resources on an Evolve website include videos and decision-making algorithms.
Head, Neck, and Orofacial Infections by
Call Number: RC936 .H87 2016
Publication Date: 2015-11-02
Use best practices in effectively treating infections of the head, neck, and orofacial complex! Head, Neck, and Orofacial Infections: A Multidisciplinary Approach is the only resource on the market with in-depth guidelines to the diagnosis and management of pathology due to severe infections. No longer do you have to search through journal articles and websites, as this comprehensive, full-color reference covers both cutting-edge and time-tested approaches to recognizing and handling infections. From well-known OMS educator James Hupp and oral surgeon Elie Ferneini, and with chapters written by expert contributors, this book is ideal for use in the classroom, as preparation for the NBDE and specialty exams, and as a clinical resource for patient care. UNIQUE! Comprehensive coverage of head, neck, and orofacial infections addresses the diagnosis and management of pathology due to infections of the head and neck and orofacial complex. Expert contributors are drawn from the disciplines of oral and maxillofacial surgery, head and neck surgery, plastic surgery, and otolaryngology, and they provide state-of-the-art guidance based on extensive experience with current techniques as well as technological advances in managing head, neck, and orofacial infections. Over 500 photographs, radiographs, and illustrations demonstrate pathologies, procedures, and outcomes. A logical organization addresses these topics: 1) issues that are common to all infections of the head and neck region, 2) infections of specific parts of the region, and 3) infections related to certain procedures, types of patients, unusual organisms, and medical-legal implications. Key chapters include: Odontogenic Infections of the Fascial Spaces chapter focuses on the etiology, clinical manifestations, anatomic considerations, and treatment of odontogenic infections. Nasal and Para-Nasal Sinus Infections chapter discusses the pathophysiology and management of nasal and paranasal sinus infections. Microbiologic Considerations with Dental Implants chapter reviews the issues associated with the prevention of infection with surgical implant placement, including the factors that are known to cause infection, the putative bacteria involved and means to control infection once it occurs.
Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2015-05-13
Be prepared to diagnose and manage any condition you encounter in your practice! This bestselling reference gives you direct access to a complete range of full-color clinical images and patient radiographs that illustrate the differentiating characteristics of lesions in the oral and maxillofacial region. Significantly revised and updated content throughout this edition brings you the latest information on the etiology, clinical features, histopathology, treatment, and prognosis of each disease entity, as well as cutting-edge topics such as bisphosphonate osteonecrosis, the oral complications associated with methamphetamine abuse, solitary fibrous tumors, gene mutation, and plasminogen deficiency. Comprehensive contemporary overview of oral and maxillofacial pathology includes a brief description of each individual lesion or pathologic condition and the kind of pathologic process that it represents, followed by a discussion of its clinical and/or radiographic presentation, histopathologic features, and its treatment and prognosis. Over 1,400 radiographs and full-color clinical photos facilitate the identification and classification of lesions and disease states. Up-to-date concepts of pathogenesis and disease management help you understand the diseases that affect oral and maxillofacial structures, formulate an accurate diagnosis, and institute proper treatment. Logical organization by body system or disease process makes it easy to look up specific conditions. Comprehensive appendix on differential diagnosis organizes disease entities according to their most prominent or identifiable clinical features, helping you find and formulate differential diagnoses. Information on forensic dentistry, methamphetamine, and gene mutations addresses some of today's leading topics in oral pathology research. Differential diagnosis case studies on the Evolve companion website include correct answers and rationales, offering more opportunities to improve your identification skills and diagnostic competency. NEW cutting-edge content includes pathologies and conditions such as localized juvenile spongiotic gingival hyperplasia, oral lesions associated with cosmetic fillers, oropharyngeal carcinomas related to human papillomavirus (HPV), IgG4-related disease and mammary analogue secretory carcinomas, Globodontia, Lobodontia, Leishmaniasis, and Xanthelasma. Over 130 NEW full-color photos and over 40 NEW radiographs bring common and uncommon disease states more clearly to life.
White and Pharoah's Oral Radiology by
Publication Date: 2018-11-08
Written specifically for dentists, White and Pharoah's Oral Radiology: Principles and Interpretation 8th Edition incorporates over 1,500 high-quality radiographic images and illustrations to demonstrate core concepts and essential principles and techniques of oral and maxillofacial radiology. The new edition of this bestselling book delivers with state-of-the-art information on oral radiology principles and techniques, and image interpretation. Dental student will gain a solid foundation in radiation physics, radiation biology, and radiation safety and protection before introducing including specialized techniques such as MRI and CT. As well, students will learn how to recognize the key radiographic features of pathologic conditions and interpret radiographs accurately. The 8th edition also includes new chapters on Radiologic Anatomy, Beyond 3D Imaging, and Diseases Affecting the Structure of Bone. A practical guide to using today's technology, this unique text helps your students provide state-of-the-art care! Over 1,500 high quality dental radiographs, full color photos, and illustrations clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce the essential principles and techniques of oral and maxillofacial radiology. Updated Extensive coverage of all aspects of oral and maxillofacial radiology includes the entire predoctoral curriculum. A wide array of radiographic images including advanced imaging such as MRI and CT. An easy-to-follow format simplifies the key radiographic features of each pathologic condition, including location, periphery, shape, internal structure, and effects on surrounding structures - placed in context with clinical features, differential diagnosis, and management. Expert contributors include many authors with worldwide reputations. Case studies apply imaging concepts to real-world scenarios. NEW! New editors Sanjay Mallya and Ernest Lam along with new contributors bring a fresh perspective on oral radiology. NEW! Chapter! Beyond 3D Imaging introduces applications of 3D imaging such as stereolithic models. NEW! Chapter Radiological Anatomy includes all radiological anatomy content allowing you to better visualize and understand normal appearances of structures on conventional and contemporary imaging, side-by-side. NEW! Coverage of Diseases Affecting the Structure of Bone consolidated into one chapter to simplify foundational basic science information and its applications to radiologic interpretation.