Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contemporary Orthodontics [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2018-10-03
The leading text for orthodontic education! With a world-renowned author team led by Dr. William Proffit, Contemporary Orthodontics, 6th Edition continues its long tradition of excellence in providing detailed coverage of orthodontic diagnosis, treatment planning, and treatment techniques. Key topics include practical applications of computer technology, alternative treatment approaches, the biomechanics of orthodontic appliances, the selection of efficient treatment procedures, and the treatment of complex problems in both children and adults. A wealth of case studies with photographs and illustrations highlight and reinforce key concepts. UNIQUE! A clear writing style and logical organization help you more easily understand important and difficult concepts. NEW! Now on the Expert Consult platform, the printed textbook comes with an easy-to-access electronic version of the text that includes references linked to PubMed abstracts. Comprehensive coverage provides detailed information on diagnosis, treatment planning, and current treatment procedures. NEW and UPDATED! Evidence-based case studies throughout the text reinforce key information to prepare you for the orthodontics portion of the dental boards (which will be case-based starting in 2020), as well as for clinical practice. NEW and UNIQUE! Two additional chapters in this edition explore the key topics of Growth Modification in Transverse and Class III Problems and Growth Modification in Class II, Open Bite/Deep Bite, and Multidimensional Problems.
Handbook of Orthodontics by
Call Number: RK521 .C53 2009
Publication Date: 2010-02-24
Richly illustrated and in full colour throughout, the new HANDBOOK OF ORTHODONTICS presents the subject of orthodontics in an accessible, easy-to-read manner. Whilst maintaining a strong clinical focus throughout, this new volume provides the reader with a firm understanding of the problem of malocclusion and its management and addresses the controversies in modern orthodontics by taking an evidence-based look at current clinical practice. The book also presents a clear explanation of the basic sciences of relevance to the orthodontist, including an up-to-date look at craniofacial development, growth and syndromic conditions that affect this region. Offers comprehensive coverage of clinical orthodontics, from diagnosis and treatment planning through contemporary removable and fixed appliances to cleft lip and palate Helps the reader develop a critical approach to the different philosophies of treatment by addressing controversies in orthodontics and looking at current clinical practice in an evidence-based manner Covers the scientific basis of orthodontics in detail with particular focus on embryology, craniofacial development, growth and the biology of tooth movement Numerous clinical examples clearly illustrate the theory described Succinct writing style and rich use of pedagogy - almost 400 illustrations and tables together with 'pull-out boxes' - to help make learning easy Ideal for use as a textbook or as a reference manual Suitable for senior dental students, postgraduate trainees and residents in orthodontics
Orthodontics [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2016-08-15
Comprehensive, cutting-edge content prepares you for today's orthodontics! Orthodontics: Current Principles and Techniques, 6th Edition provides evidence-based coverage of orthodontic diagnosis, planning strategies, and treatment protocols, including esthetics, genetics, temporary anchorage devices, aligners, technology-assisted biomechanics, and much more. New to this edition is an Expert Consult website using videos and additional visuals to show concepts difficult to explain with words alone. Expert Consult also adds three online-only chapters, research updates, and a fully searchable version of the text. From respected editors Lee Graber, Robert Vanarsdall, Katherine Vig, and Greg Huang, along with a veritable Who's Who of expert contributors, this classic reference has a concise, no-nonsense approach to treatment that makes it the go-to book for orthodontic residents and practitioners! Comprehensive coverage provides a one-stop resource for the field of orthodontics, including foundational theory and the latest on the materials and techniques used in today's practice. Experienced, renowned editors lead a team of expert, international contributors, bringing the most authoritative clinical practice and supporting science from the best and brightest in the industry. More than 3,400 images include a mixture of radiographs, full-color clinical photos, and anatomic or schematic line drawings, showing examples of treatment, techniques, and outcomes. Extensive references make it easy to look up the latest in orthodontic research and evidence-based information, and all references also appear online. Detailed, illustrated case studies show the decision-making process, showing the consequences of various treatment techniques over time. NEW! Seven all-new chapters include Orthodontic Diagnosis and Treatment Planning with Cone-Beam Computed Tomography Imaging; Upper Airway, Cranial Morphology, and Sleep Apnea; Management of Impactions; Iatrogenic Effects of Orthodontic Appliances; Minimally and Non-Invasive Approaches to Accelerate Tooth Movement; Management of Dental Luxation and Avulsion Injuries in the Permanent Dentition; and Patient Management and Motivation for the Child and Adolescent Patient. NEW! Expert Consult website includes online-only chapters, instructional videos, many references linked to PubMed, and research updates including additional case studies. UPDATED CHAPTERS include Biomechanical Considerations with Temporary Anchorage Devices, Bonding in Orthodontics, Clear Aligner Treatment, Lingual Appliance Treatment, Psychological Aspects of Diagnosis and Treatment, Clinically Relevant Aspects of Dental Materials Science in Orthodontics, The Biologic Basis of Orthodontics, and more. New co-editor Greg J. Huang is joined by new contributors who are highly regarded experts within their respective subspecialties in orthodontics.